My Neighbor Tells Me His Wife Is A Manager At A McDonald's Store

in #life6 years ago

teaches-2915439_960_720.jpg

So my neighbor tells me his wife told him that some customers told her to go back where she came from. I guess that was an insult to her.

She is the manager of the whole store. The owner has several stores and as a store manager she can be at one store this month then be sent to another store to be store manager there.

I guess that is a good practice and store managers can have a feel for each store and get to know the workers on a personal level.

So my neighbor was kind of angry about the incident.

Well, talking to him about the event kind of brought back memories of me working for McDonald's. You see I worked for the same owner, kind of anyway. I worked for the old man. Now the son as I knew him then is the big boss now.

When I did work for McDonald's it was right after I graduated from high school. That was the later part of the 70's. At one part of my life I actually worked for McDonald's and the telephone company at the same time that was early 80's.

Then I would do the morning shift at McDonalds then when after that I would go to my gym at the time and take a shower, then go to my job at the telephone company.

Yes, I think I was crazy. Now that I think about it, it seems like too much work.

Well anyway, the store I worked at there were all kinds of different races. I think we were happy there. I know when I finally left the workers didn't want me to go.

I was a cook there. I did the other jobs too, but I identify mostly as a cook. I worked at a store that at the time was connected to an unfinished interstate highway and the street we were on was a main connection to the other freeway.

So at that time we would get hit with huge crowds every now and then. One manager used to yell out, "We're getting hit, we're getting hit." That means we were getting crazy busy at the time.

I know this sounds crazy to some people, but I used to love those crazy busy times. I remember one time looking at the monitor and 2 buses just parked in the parking lot.

I was the only cook at the time, since it was night time. Those buses were ski buses with all kinds of hungry skiers. In those times I would try to do what is not suggested during normal working hours.

Since at night I had to call my own shots. Well, that means I was one to say what to cook and how much to cook and hopefully in the end all the product would be sold before those customers left.

So during those crazy busy times I would lay down more meat than what most cooks would even try, cause if you're not fast enough you could burn product.

Sometimes I would even get encouragement from a manager telling me, "David, anyway possible get the product up." Well that means he just gave me the blessing of bending the rules enough to get the product up the fastest way possible.

That is when I would pretend I was a machine saying to myself something like, I am a super fast machine. I would start flipping burgers two at a time. When the brass is around we were only to flip them one at a time.

When dressing the hamburger buns I would hold mustard dispenser in the right hand and the ketchup dispenser in the left hand. During normal hours we had to do mustard first then ketchup next. I was doing it at the same time.

I did other tricks, but I can't think of them now. I used to hate it when it was slow. When there were just a few people at the windows. Oh how boring that use to be. I used to just love it when each window had a line behind it.

So during those busy times I would get into a certain kind of focus. I remember those times as fun times for me.

One time one of the window girls came to the grill area and asked me how I got so fast. I told her I would practice everyday. Then she would ask, Oh really, where do you practice at? I would smile and tell her I practice everyday right here at the grill.

Then she hits me on the arm as I start laughing.

There was a time that a certain manager wouldn't even let me take my breaks until we were closed for that day. I would admit we were really busy that whole day. I really didn't mind too much so long as I got my breaks eventually.

Why did he do that? Well, usually when I took my break they would pull 3 guys off the window and make them do grill. Well for my whole meal break they were behind in getting the product up.

When I finally got back to the grill I could hear the girls say, Oh good, David is back from his break. So that is why this one manager postponed my breaks to closing time. That may have been illegal, but I wouldn't turn him in.

I forgot about those times. It was a very long time ago. I am sure I couldn't handle times like that now. I would be too slow.

So let's get back to why we are talking about McDonald's in the first place.

As I see it my neighbor's wife is the store manager. Sure there might still be some kind of prejudice everywhere you would have to handle it.

At the telephone company I was called almost every bad name that could be named. We were not to talk back in like manor.

So I guess if I were the store manager and I was told to go back where I came from, I might say, "It is not time for me to go back to my house, but would you like to order product? Well great,then step in line and Suzy will help you when she is finished helping her other customers."

Then I would walk away and checkout how the grill guy or gal is doing.

If you enjoyed this blog please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is from pixabay.com.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60165.60
ETH 2421.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44