Mom Wanted Me To Take Her To The Farmer's Market

in #life5 years ago

IMG_20190908_124638117.jpg

Mom wanted to get some bitter melon. So I took her to the Farmer's market that we always go to. I even take her there at a certain time to get the better price.

You see I take her there right before closing. Well, some of the merchants want to get rid of produce at that time, so some of them discount some of their produce then.

On the table in the picture some of the bagged produce is now on sale for a dollar each. So Mom buys a bunch of those bags of bitter melon. My mom was buying so much bitter melon that a woman asked what she was buying and I told her that she is buying bitter melon. So the woman bought a bag of bitter melon. Some say that to eat bitter melon, one would have to have an acquired taste for it. I have been eating bitter melon since I was a child.

Some of my friends tell me they don't like bitter melon. Well, it is bitter. I make a cabbage soup and I also add bitter melon into the soup.

A doctor told my mom that she is either close to or borderline diabetic. Well, bitter melon is good for diabetes. Well the doctors won't tell you that, you will have to learn that on your own as the doctor will want you to take their diabetes medicine.

OK, now I have to announce that I am no doctor, so do a study on bitter melon and diabetes. I will tell you that I eat better melon and even store it washed and cut up then placed in freezer bags and I store them in my freezer.

This way I can have some bitter melon in the winter when it is hard to find bitter melon. Of course at a health food store they may sell powdered bitter melon in capsules which is an easier way to consume bitter melon if you don't like its bitter taste.

Mom also likes to bake things like bread and cookies. So I told Mom to take a break from baking bread and cookies as those will turn to sugar in her body.

I told Mom to stay away from pasta and maybe eat just a little rice. I like eating rice, but sometimes I just try to cut down on the rice too.

I have some relatives that are borderline diabetic and some are diabetic. I think if one would eat a lot of vegetables that would help the problem out and of course cut out the sugar and foods that turn to sugar in the body.

Here is a picture of some bitter melon:

IMG_20190908_124443003.jpg

I think it would be worth looking into bitter melon as a health food and something that can help control sugar in the body.

Last Friday when I went over to visit Mom and my brother, she made some chicken with bitter melon. I liked that meal very much. She also had some cabbage soup with bitter melon also.

Well, Mom was running low on bitter melon is why she wanted to get some more bitter melon. Mom does the same as I, to wash, then clean out, then cut up, then place in freezer bags and store them in the freezer for later use.

Let's end with a scripture, Woe unto them that call evil good, and good evil; that put darkness for light, and light for darkness; that put bitter for sweet, and sweet for bitter! Isaiah 5:20.

Sources 1, 2

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Images are mine, taken with my Moto G.

Sort:  

Cool ... I like Farmer's Markets there are lot fresh food :)
I hope you go soon more and you can make more photos there :)

Yes, I'll have to do that. Thank you @foxkoit!

Good tip: "I think it would be worth looking into bitter melon as a health food and something that can help control sugar in the body."
It seems as if bitterness has something to do with sugar-in-blood control. I heard that mahogany seeds (very bitter, brownish, blade shaped, helicopter-like seeds) are also good for the control of sugar levels (glicemia) My mother is chewing them these days.
Thanks for this post :D

I did look up mahogany seeds, yes they are good for control of sugar. Also I do take apricot kernels. I buy them from Amazon. Very bitter and they are good for cancer too. Thank you @alkormizar!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92