It's Time To Smog My 89 Nissan Sentra Again

in #life5 years ago

IMG_20190806_085116237.jpg

I just drove to the smog check station and here is my 89 Nissan Sentra in their parking lot. Now I have to go in and show my paperwork. Before coming here I drove my 89 Nissan Sentra to the next city up north and back, then straight to the smog check station.

The reason I did that was to get the engine hot before going to get my smog check. I heard it was always good to have the engine hot before having it tested.

In California I have to have a smog check on each of my vehicles every other year. So I always want the car to pass or I may fail the test then I have to go to the mechanic's to see why the vehicle is not passing the test. It just costs more money if the car doesn't pass. So I try to get the edge on the first try.

Yesterday I got the 89 Nissan Sentra an oil change. I heard that a fresh oil change helps with the passing of the smog check test. So I did that yesterday.

The other thing I did yesterday was to fill up the 89 Nissan Sentra with premium gas from a half full tank. You see I found out long ago by experience that premium gas will give an extra edge on the smog test also.

As a matter of fact in the later 90's I took my car to a smog check station and the guy said that my 89 Nissan Sentra didn't pass. So I went to get my 89 Nissan Sentra to a gas station and filled it with premium gas. Then I went to a different smog check station and it passed and I did nothing else, but add in premium gas.

Well, with a 30 year old car like my 89 Nissan Sentra, I would like to get the edge on the test as many ways as possible.

I also have iridium spark plugs in my 89 Nissan Sentra. I learned from the Youtube channel of Scotty Kilmer that the iridium spark plugs because of the iridium metal, that it lasts very long. He mentioned in a video that there was a car that had the same iridium spark plugs for over 200,000 miles. You see I didn't know it lasted that long.

I used to change my plugs every other year, but now that I know I just keep my iridium spark plugs in the car for a long long time. These iridium spark plugs do cost more than the standard spark plugs, but in the end if they even last 100,000 miles it would be worth the cost. I actually have iridium plugs in all my vehicles now. So I hope I won't have to change them for a long long time.

So anyway, I was waiting in the air conditioned waiting room. I like that. I did have some paper and a pen in my pocket, so I penned out some of my blog there.

They even have a window from the test area to the waiting room, so I can see them testing my car. Well after awhile of waiting the guy comes in with the clipboard and gives it to the girl in the front. Then she says, For the Nissan Sentra.

Then I go up and she tells me that my car passed and that it will cost $40. I give her cash and I am on my way. Great, I don't have to worry about my 89 Nissan Sentra doing this test again until around August 2021.

Let's end with a scripture, A righteous man regardeth the life of his beast: but the tender mercies of the wicked are cruel. Proverbs 12:10.

Sources 1, 2

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine, taken with my Moto G.

Sort:  

I remember those days. When my wife and I moved out to La habra we had a seventy Nova , that was fun to get through smog check. they plugged off the vacuum advance and i passed, I went home and hooked it back up. no smog check in South Dakota

That is great to not have to do smog check there. Thank you @andre-ager!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64241.02
ETH 3178.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85