I Went To My Friend's Dad's Memorial

in #life4 years ago

I got a call last week from my old friend from high school. He told me that he wanted me to go to his dad's memorial the next week.

I told him that I would go. When me and my friend were in high school I worked for his dad as a TV delivery person. My friend would drive the pickup and I would help load the TV's into the pickup and tie them down using a trucker's knot that one of the customers taught me as he seen me struggle to put a granny's knot to tie down his TV.

That was one of the most useful knots that I learned how to tie. I still use it when I have to tie things down in my old pickup, the 91 Chevy S10.

So I went there, they mentioned a service and potluck. Well, I went to a deli and brought some fried chicken.

When I got there it was a Veteran Post were this memorial was. I handed the fried chicken to one of the girls handling the food and went in where people were sitting.

My friend was up on the small stage talking about his dad and throwing in scripture here and there. Like when his dad met his wife, my friends mom, he would mention the scripture, Findeth a wife findeth a good, and obtaineth favour of the LORD. Proverbs 18:22.

He mentioned certain things that happened in the family and how his dad was there. Like when my friend broke the law and drove in between the railroad arms that were down.

My friend didn't see a train at the first tracks, but there was a train on the second tracks close by and my friend got hit by the train. His car was totaled, but by the grace of God he survived such a wreck and his dad was there holding his hand telling him that he would be OK.

Well, my friend lost his car, but he only spent one night in the hospital with no serious injuries. Now that reminds me of a scripture, as it is written, I returned, and saw under the sun, that the race not to the swift, nor the battle to the strong, neither yet bread to the wise, nor yet riches to men of understanding, nor yet favour to men of skill; but time and chance happeneth to them all. Ecclesiastes 9:11. Time and chance happened to my friend that day and he got to live through it. Praise God! Thank you, Jesus!

It got to the part if people wanted to say something. That brought me back to were my friend came to my dad's funeral service and I asked if anyone wanted to speak.

My friend came up and talked a little about my dad. I thought I better go up there and say something for my friend's dad.

I introduced myself and mentioned that I was a friend of the family. I mentioned how my friend's dad gave me a job as a TV delivery person and how much fun that was. I mentioned how my friend's dad told me to dismantle a TV. I never did that before, but I did it anyway. I mentioned how I didn't think I could do such a thing, but I did get to do it.

I also mentioned that my friend's dad was always so happy to see me. Then I said, I proclaim that Jesus is the Lord! Then I said, One of these days my friend's dad is going to see me again and he will be so happy, and I walked off the stage.

Later after the service one of my friend's sons came and gave me a hug and talked to me saying that he didn't know that I worked for his grandpa all those years ago. He told me that he was happy to see me again.

Many more things happened at the memorial and I will end here.

Let's end with a scripture, Honour thy father and thy mother: that thy days may be long upon the land which the Lord thy God giveth thee. Exodus 20:12.

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.

Sort:  

/ᐠ-ᆽ-ᐟ\

Thank you @steemkitten!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87