As I Was Walking, I Found This Empty Bottle

in #life5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20191016_082951804.jpg

I guess this is an empty bottle of blended vodka. The bottle was across the street from a liquor store. So one may have a drinking problem that makes them drink near the store.

I remember talking to a neighbor long ago. He told me of someone he knew that would drink straight whiskey and can tell when someone would try to water it down.

My neighbor told me that he died, something to do with his liver.

Well, I used to drink. I choose not to drink today. Well, unless I use it like a medicine. That reminds me of a scripture, as it is written, Drink no longer water, but use a little wine for thy stomach's sake and thine often infirmities. 1 Timothy 5:23.

Yes, you might find a little vodka in my shelves, but I use it like medicine. It does work good when you have a sore throat.

My mom used to always have some brandy in the cupboards for when she had a sore throat. I think she would mix it in her tea. That bottle of brandy would last for years at a time as she only used it for her and us kids sore throats.

I would imagine that Timothy would have stomach problems and other infirmities. You see, I figured he did a lot of travelling. At every place one would go the water is always different.

I remember going to another country and just getting sick. It probably would be good for me to just drink boiled water. In my own home I have a gravity water filter. I like drinking water from the filter.

OK, lets get back to the empty bottle of blended vodka. So alcohol can be an addiction. I know that the boys next door like to get together every now and then and drink beer and sometimes hard liquor as a group.

I know what they drink as they let me have the empty beer bottles so I can turn them in for some cash. They also throw in the other bottles of hard liquor.

I guess they have money to buy such drinks. I was talking to someone that I like to read the Bible and that I now choose to not drink. He told me that if he didn't hang out with the boys and drink with them then, his life would be boring.

Well, that is a sad way to look at it. I don't drink and hang out with the boys and I don't find life boring. Maybe it is a culture thing. I talk to another one that told me that he has to drink with the boys. So maybe it is like a peer pressure type of thing.

I am glad I am free from the peer pressure thing. I do tell them that no drunkard shall inherit the kingdom of God. As it is written, Know ye not that the unrighteous shall not inherit the kingdom of God? Be not deceived: neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor effeminate, nor abusers of themselves with mankind, Nor thieves, nor covetous, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor extortioners, shall inherit the kingdom of God. 1 Corinthians 6:9-10.

I don't think they like to hear that. One time I heard, Stop talking about the Bible. So who is talking? Is it the person or another spirit. Isn't funny that they call liquor, spirits?

That reminds me of a scripture, The light of the body is the eye: if therefore thine eye be single, thy whole body shall be full of light. But if thine eye be evil, thy whole body shall be full of darkness. If therefore the light that is in thee be darkness, how great is that darkness! Matthew 6:22-23.

So if the eye is not single then there is something else in there creating all that darkness. It is another spirit. A spirit of darkness. This darkness will not allow you to see properly. Jesus told us to cast it out.

As it is written, with Jesus speaking, Thou hypocrite, first cast out the beam out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother's eye. Matthew 7:5.

That goes with another scripture, with Jesus speaking, And these signs shall follow them that believe; In my name shall they cast out devils; they shall speak with new tongues; Mark 16:17.

Let's end with a scripture, with Jesus speaking, I am the vine, ye the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing. John 15:5.

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine, taken with my Moto G.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68403.29
ETH 3749.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66