After 28 Years I Had To Buy Another Rake

in #life6 years ago

IMG_20181202_114553431.jpg

Yes, the rake on the right side of the picture is my 28 year old rake. I thought that it might last for a long long time. Well, I guess 28 years is a pretty long time.

When I did buy it, it did have a 10 year guarantee on it and it cost about $10 plus sales tax. So I really got my money's worth and then some.

A few days ago I was raking my leaves and I hear a "crack." You can even see the crack on the rake on the right side of the picture.

Like I said, I have had this rake for about 28 years. So much time has gone by and so many leaves have been raked over those years.

I have found over the years, that if you keep plastic in the sun over time, that plastic will break down. I think this kind of plastic that my rakes are made of are of the poly type.

Well, since my rake lasted for 28 years, before it broke, I wanted to go to the same place where I bought it and buy another one of its same type.

I am hoping that I will have as much time with this new rake as I had with my last rake, God willing.

Well, this new one looks the same only the color of the old one was green and this new one is red. Since I want this new rake to last longer than the one before I will keep in inside the house. This way I keep it from direct sunlight when not in use.

I realize that things don't last forever, but I will try to make things last longer, cause I like to save money, but if I only get 10 years out of this rake than I will still consider myself doing good.

Well, even myself will eventually breakdown and die. Hopefully not right now. I will have to take care of myself and my tools as long as possible, God willing.

Hey, this reminds me of a scripture. As it is written, But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint. Isaiah 40:31.

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine, taken with my Moto G.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62928.79
ETH 2465.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55