A Man Asked What Time It Was After He Seen This Clock

in #life6 years ago

IMG_20190131_115305416_HDR.jpg

It was the last day of my jury duty, the judge just thanked us for our service, it seemed like all the jurors rushed to the elevator.

I felt good working with the group of jurors and I was on my way back to my car that was parked on the roof in a parking garage that is a little walk from the new courthouse, that I finally got to see and be a juror in.

I am saving my badge and the dates that I have served as I don't have to do jury duty again until January of 2021. That doesn't mean that they won't give me another summons early though.

Yes, they do make mistakes sometimes and I just have to give them the dates I served and I might even give them a copy of my badge that I used to serve.

I think I had to do that a couple of times when they called me too early.

So anyway, I was walking to my car and a guy asks me what time it is. He looked at the big clock on the building and said that can't be right.

I pulled out my cell phone and told him it was 11:50 AM, the big clock said it was 12:50 PM. Maybe the people in the building didn't know how to change the time.

The guy was grateful to know that he was still on time. Maybe he was on his way to the courthouse? Maybe even for jury duty? Who knows, but at least he will have some time.

Let's talk about time. Where I am we have to turn the clock back one hour from Day Light Saving Time in November and on March 10, 2019 we have to move the time one hour ahead again to get back on Day Light Saving Time.

A long time ago we used to have a time number where you could call and a woman in a robot voice would tell you the time. Well, we don't have that anymore.

It was the telephone company that would pay for that service, because people would just call the O operator and ask what time it is. This way with that number the O operator can be free to do their job.

Then things changed and now our cell phones even change the time automatically. No need for the time number anymore. So they discontinued it. Now people like me can write about things that have been, but are no longer.

Let's get back to the clock with the wrong time for the current moment. Maybe we can think of the clock to be ahead of its time. Yes, that is it.

And when March 10, 2019 comes it will be "right on time."

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine, taken with my Moto G.

Sort:  

This post has been Re-steemed and Up-voted by @self-publishing! Come write with us on discord! https://discord.gg/TF5Wq6S < - - A curation trail for self-publishing on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60133.79
ETH 2686.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49