My first 1/2 Marathon

in #life7 years ago (edited)

In November both my wife and I will be running a 1/2 marathon with her mom running a marathon. This will be by far the furthest I've ever run. Am I excited? Hell nah but at the same time hell yes! I'm nervous about pushing myself that far but, I know it can be done. My wife's family runs consistently and has gotten me back into running. My older brother ran track in middle school and high school and was pretty awesome at it (I believe his fastest 5k was around 18 min and that was in the 8th grade!). So its not something that's necessarily brand new to me. We have been training pretty consistently here lately with our runs currently at 5 miles, 5 miles, and 8 miles for the week. I struggle sometimes to complete this like yesterday I only ran 3.16. Sometimes running feels good, kind of a stress relief and sense of freedom. At other times like yesterday its a grind and I struggle mentally to get it done. I know I can do it but I just have no motivation. I'm wondering what do other people use for motivation when they run? Do you run? If so, what have you run (5k, 10k, 13.1, 26.2)?

Comment and give me that upvote! Let's hear from some runners!

IMG_3976.JPG

Sort:  

Both of are looking grate, congratulation for your marathon and best of luck....

Thank you sir!

Nice post!

If you are struggling for motivation I'd suggest make a spreadsheet or something where you can see how you are doing against your targets. This really helps me to stay motivated, and to get off my arse and go bag some miles even when I don't really feel like it. It's always the first mile out of the door that's hardest.

Here's how my simple spreadsheet has evolved over the years :)

Nice spreadsheet! That's some serious distance averages for 2017. I'm currently using the runkeeper app which is OK to reference previous runs. I think I have around 116 runs tracked. I think I might take your advice and set a goal for myself to work towards instead of just the 1/2 marathon.

That is a good advice man!

Of course I run! For motivation? Just try to beat yourself!
Welcome to steemit!
Upvoted, resteemed and following you for more running posts and stuff from you!

Thanks for the reply and advice! Following you for motivation haha

Very pretty wife, me too I shared a picture with my wife ;) I wish you all the best :)

Thank you, she keeps me honest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66531.19
ETH 3487.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63