Now you see them, now you don't

in #life5 years ago

For the past few weeks, I've experienced some kind of sadness resulting from seeing people i once knew die. First, it was a neighbor. Tomorrow will make it three weeks since she slumped at the bus-stop and died at the spot, leaving behind a very sick husband and three little children. It was a great shock to everyone in the compound as it was the least expected thing to happen to her.

Second, a friend who even though we've never met face-to-face, was friendly and cheerful towards me everytime we chatted on Whatsapp. He was a final year Engineering student of the school i graduated from, University of Uyo and was also a member of the Steemit Uyo community. I couldn't believe when i heard that he had died. It was like a dream. How could Seun die just like that? Apparently, his case was that of an Appendicitis operation that went wrong. He was only 22. I felt really bad. He left too soon.

A few minutes ago, i witnessed the funeral procession of a man, 63, who died of a brief illness. He owns a school on my street and his personal house isn't far from the school. They were taking his body to his house for the wake, which is currently ongoing and afterwards the internment. I could see members of his family among the crowd. They were all in tears with their heads hanging. I'm sure they still can't believe that their patriach is gone. I'm sure they'll be wishing is all an expensive joke and he'll just appear from where he was hiding and say 'April Fool' even though April Fools Day has since passed.

These events have got me thinking hard about my life and my family. Will i leave this world in a hurry? What will happen to the people who love and look up to me when I'm gone? Why do people even have to die? Death is still something i still don't understand because it's like these days, people just die for nothing. I can't bear the pain that comes with knowing that a person you once knew, either closely or not, has died. My heart gets heavy each time i hear of a person's death. Sometimes i wish i can undo death. Why is it allowed if it causes so much pain? Life is already hard as it is, why add death to it? I guess I'll never understand.

May all the souls of the deceased rest in peace and may all their friends, family and loved ones in general find solace in the peace and comfort that the Holy Spirit provides.

Some pictures i could get from the funeral procession:
IMG_20190412_154805.jpg

IMG_20190412_154819.jpg

IMG_20190412_154821.jpg

For Seun:
2ac0f6b1352d4d20859f9664664ff949.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63332.97
ETH 3169.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89