Where does your Crypto go if you die? : make sure it's not lost!

in #life6 years ago

Why is this important to think about?

it is quite morbid to talk about but I feel it is necessary. so many of us have invested in crypto and watched the market for years. but have anybody really thought about what would happen if you died? would your family know how to get your savings and investments? I thought about this about a month ago. the thought came to me after my email got hacked, luckily I had everything backed up with 2 step FA so I did not lose anything and I managed to secure my email and nothing was lost. but it struck me. let's say I got hit by a car and I sadly passed away. everything I have invested and made with crypto would be lost, my family would not be able to get access to any of my assets because I did not have any spare wallet keys laying around. so I think it is important to talk about and get sorted for everybody, we don't want it to happen but nobody can know the future.

What i did

I downloaded all of my keys to a notepad and split it up into 2 flash drives. one of them I have on my keychain that way I will always have it with me if I need it. the second is saved in a locked safe in one of my family members house. in the flash drive that I put into the safe, I also put instructions on how they can be used and how the coins/tokens can be changed to fiat. this is the best option I have as I do not have access to a lawyer or anything like that.

some more steps you can take

here are a few more steps that you could take if you don't want to use the steps I used.

  • bank vault. it is possible to rent a small vault for not too much each year with shared access in case you were to meet your end. this is another option I will most likely use in the future.

  • A Will. This is another way you can let your family or friends get access to your crypto investments/savings if you, unfortunately, were to die.

Last Words

I realize this is not something a lot of us might have thought about, but we will all die at some point and it would be such a shame if our close family would not be able to use our legacy. this is something I thought a lot about and I wanted to raise some more awareness about it.

Sort:  

I have done something quite similar. But as my wife is terrible with computers, I have instructed her to have her brother follow the instructions and transfer the funds as necessary.

She just laughs at me, and can't understand why I have put so much effort into "toy" money... :)

I hope in time she will come to see crypto for what it is. The future.

we can only hope.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by DarkDrake from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61586.28
ETH 2569.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55