Are You Feeling Foreign?

in #life7 years ago

You ever have a moment where you feel out of place... be it physically, spiritually, emotionally? Something on the inside tells you this moment is foreign to yourself and you should be elsewhere. I’ve had my fair share of these moments working the traditional 9 to 5. I always feel like we were created for more than just working our lives away. If you think about 1/3 of our lives is spent working.... most of which are just jobs and not careers we are passionate about and frankly most of the jobs we take do not benefit our society, people or planet. I wrote this poem a few years ago to reflect the moments in our lives where we feel we should be somewhere else.


FOREIGN

Do ya ever feel like somethings out of place?

The look of bewilderment implanted on your face
Thoughts that led you to this point you retrace
Ill feelings you want to try and replace
The rate of your pulse on an offbeat pace
Questions without an answer leaving you in last place

image

Do ya ever feel like somethings out of sync?

Like that's rabbits fur no way it could be a mink
What's apparent to the eye isn't what I think
Could it be I'm missing a link...
Skating on the thin ice of life, no rink
Drowning in my own fears like dreams being flushed down the sink

image
Do ya ever feel like somethings missing?
Like I know what this is but it's not what I'm wishing
Where's my blessing cuz' I try to be a faithful Christian
I keep telling you, but are you listening
I know what it is but is it my God given mission
Focusing on the wrong things will always render me missing

image
Do ya ever feel like this very moment is foreign?
Like my mind is out there dream whorein'
While my body is stuck.. like come on this is boring
When really my inner greatness says I should be soaring
Yet it's hidden from ones glory like a Mormon
the feeling of domestic is what I'm yearning, time to escape the notion of foreign

image

Sort:  

You are a real woman! Never leave that feeling that allows you more, follow your instincts, never settle, beautiful text!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61248.96
ETH 2375.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55