Behind every Successful Man

in #life8 years ago

In my last post about myself I went into a lot of detail on my past, but left out a huge part about how I managed to stay sane through all of these years.


Over the past three years I have been swamped as I attempted to bootstrap BitShares and now Steem. The first 9 months of BitShares were very difficult. I was working around the clock attempting to bootstrap BitShares. It wouldn’t be uncommon for me to work 16 hour days 7 days per week.

Somehow in the mist of everything I managed to meet Jenn. Meeting Jenn completely changed my day to day life. I finally had someone who I looked forward to seeing outside of the cryptocurrency world. My 16 hour days slowly morphed into 10 hour days as I regained some semblance of a life. I am fairly certain I would have burnt out years ago without her.

We moved in together almost 2 years ago. Since that time I have enjoyed wonderful home cooked meals, clean clothes, and a well kept house even while she worked full time. Her two wonderful cats are an endless source of entertainment and company.



It is easy to look at everything that I have accomplished in the past two years, but I would be remiss if I didn’t give Jenn credit for taking care of me while I work to change the world. She recently made a post about her perspective on the challenges of loving an entrepreneur.

I know there are many people out there that are working around the clock on their own startups. I highly recommend you take some time away from everything to balance out your life. Building a successful startup is a marathon, not a sprint.

Sort:  

I missed that post by her awhile back! It was just as great as this one.

It's always good to acknowledge those who support anyone from behind the scenes.

It is indeed a marathon, hopefully you are in the last mile now :-)

CG

Wow. I like that first pic #nostalgia. It's so easy for startup founders to burnout and run out of steem ;) Glad you found a balance. Thanks jenn

This post got me pondering this: If it's unwise to invest more than you can lose, or no more than 5% of your portfolio as many people believe... How is so normal for entrepreneurs to invest almost the 100% of our lives in our projects? Investing a little in your own life is important too I'm starting to learn.

So true though, it's a marathon not a sprint... Might as well enjoy the process.

Glad for you by the way!

Wow that cat looks like a panther!!

I remember reading Jenn's post (@jwest40). :) Still full of great advice!

"Later, the LORD God said, "It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make the woman to be an authority corresponding to him." GEN 2:18

We need them...otherwise we go insane.

They said every successful man has a special woman behind. Thanks for sharing the secret. :)

lick lick lick... couldn't you come up with something more interesting to say? Or the love-drama story of dan really touched you?

Thank you jenn! By helping dan find balance, you may just have helped the planet find balance ;))

Honestly Dan, thank you. Your honesty and willingness to put yourself out there is extremely humbling and I love it. It gives personality to this entire system that could easily be seen as dark, deceptive, and hidden, but your willingness to show your true colors gives this place life. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66222.23
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10