Childhood Cancer and Me (Part 3 - The Lifeline)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

image1.JPG

Hello Steemsters,

As in the beginning of Part 2, I'll start by thanking everyone who has read, is reading and will read. I love you all and your kind words have been much appreciated.

June 1993 - At a time when advancements in medicine had achieved a survival rate of 70%, the odds were meant to be in our favor, that wasn't the case for myself. With what could be only described as hopeless, due to the current course of chemotherapy not having the desired effect on such a severe case.
Suddenly it would seem as if the heavens aligned, Buddha smiled, and Santa had come in June, as a nurse walked down the hall, her shoes echoing off the walls as she strode with purpose. A swift knock on the door and letter of hope in her hand, as I'd been accepted into a new drug trial.

Mid June 1993 - With only 4 children to be accepted to the Phase 1 trial at the Royal Brisbane Hospital in Australia, and with me being one, could there be light at the end of the tunnel? This was when I'd meet 3 other children Tanya, Rebecca, and Drew. The 3 others involved in the trial, people who at the time I never realized would impact my life so much, and whom I still think of today.

July 1993 - Promising signs on the horizon, with an appetite returning, temperatures finally under control after 4 months of slow cooking, and radiotherapy over, there was noticeable improvement. With a drip in my arm to administer the chemical concoction that was keeping me alive, They discharged me for the first to go home for my birthday.

August 1993 - With all 4 children from the trial becoming good friends, we we're introduced to Camp Quality, a camp for kids with terminally ill diseases, a place to help us forget. Leonie was the director and wonderful lady that inspired me to give me back so many years later (I'll write a bit more about that in later posts).

September 1993 - A revelation that the the trial was not working, but not for me for the other 3. Drew was the first to pass away, I never expected to be going to a funeral at the age of 8, but it was only the first of many.

October 1993 - After Drew had passed, the doctors appointments doubled again as they were worried that the rest of us my follow suit.

November 1993 - Rebecca had followed the same path as Drew. My mum has a memory, and she cries when she talks about it. She had come onto my room, I was in there with my brother and was helping me plan my funeral. I don't remember it, but my family does.

December 1993 - This is the one that crushed me, Tanya is a beautiful soul and had been my best friend. This might sound silly, but she was my first kiss and I hers. And to this day even just typing about it tears are swelling in my eyes.

January 1994 - I'm the last one left, and with the fate of 3 of 4 sealed, the doctors were perplexed as to why the treatment had worked for me. Now back at school and having life kinda return to normal, it was as if I was finally out of the woods.

Part 4 - Is It Over?....TBC

PS- One the funniest memories I have is, in the photo I uploaded you can see my hairline growing back. I came home from school one day, and took my hat off. Mum saw my hairline and thought it was a dirt line from my hat. She tried to wash the 'dirt' of my head for about 5 mins until the realization that it's not dirt had set in.

Sort:  

Wow! nice post.. Thanks for giving the news.. I like your post very much.. Keep it up.. Stay blessed be happy.. Thank you..
@banjo
@cleverbot

Thank you :) I think you are not stupid also.

I think we are getting along quite well.

Thanks @abir2016 God bless

Disease or without disease, we all gonna die.
Its all about how we react and handle life.

That is very true, but a few deserve it less than others, and sometimes they grab the wrong handle. It's to more related to who's in your life, than what life can throw at you.

Yep.
But in the end its about you and the one or thing you believed in.
If we die of only of our own, of our own self, our life would be worthless because we're not offering our lives, our pains our joys to anything or to anyone. All our pains our joys must be offered to the one we love so that we would die smiling even if it cost us to suffer forever as long as we also love forever, its a win-win game of life.

Your post has been resteemed @danjo1984!

It is so scary, just an understanding that kids can get cancer. Why the hell on Earth young people having cancer!?

Upvote and Resteem.

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 36.33% Upvote

you've been brave and gone through a lot physically and mentally. love every second and live to the max.

Thanks you for your kind words and STEEM on

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57864.58
ETH 2697.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21