Use Your Gifts

in #life7 years ago

Hey Steemers!

I have been feeling a bit lost in the turbulence of the times. A restless worry inhabits my bones; my dreams have become theatrical rehearsals of worst case scenarios. I am not the director. I hope to walk the walk away from these possibilities. And although I am only one human, I believe that my walk will become a march. That others' footsteps will reverberate down their paths until humanity is a downright parade of light.


Following the election, much has changed and will continue to. The baseline level of anxiety in the US has increased beyond what many are willing to tolerate. As we seek to respond, to stand by ourselves and those around us, I believe it is important to acknowledge our relative positions in society. We are all afforded different privileges and contend with different injustices. What are yours? What can you use to your advantage- to heal, to help, to raise awareness? What might hinder you, or be an area in which you require help from others? What are you passionate about, and how can you use that to fuel informed actions?

I believe that our individual gifts can be acts of activism. There are a multitude of causes that deserve our involvement, which leaves us with choices to make. Attempting to adopt every available niche would leave us stretched to capacity, and likely unable to do anything useful. Act from a place of authenticity, because I am damn sure that this world needs your specific perspective. It needs all of us, frankly.

I am passionate about healthcare. Particularly about changing it from a business model into an unalienable human right. I have begun volunteering at a free clinic in order to passionACT. I also believe that this blog aligns with the stated principles. Any forum that allows individuals to voice their ideas, engage in critical dialogue, and be seen as equals is one that needs to be celebrated.

I encourage all of us to sift through the chaos to find our clarity. I promise that doing so is a step in the direction of progress.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97