The Overriding External Factor

in #life7 years ago

Hey Steemers!

I want to explore a concept I've lovingly titled the "overriding external factor". You know it well- the thing happening in your life that occupies your mental space, keeps you up at night, and distracts you from all other things. Sometimes its great and intoxicating, new love perhaps (lucky you!). Other times its an unchecked to- do list, a source of anxiety, a tragic event... But whether tinged positively or negatively, it is the most salient stimulus in our present mind.


It fascinates me that one thing can stage an absolute takeover, demanding our physiology and mental state in exchange for its presence. The reason I bring this up is that I believe it can be used as a tool to help us cope with challenges. Have you ever heard someone tell you to pinch yourself while getting a shot? Its because the shot will hurt less. The sensation of the pinch co-opts mental resources that would otherwise be devoted to feeling pain. We can use competing factors like this to pull emotional resources out of demanding situations.

I'll speak from personal experience. When I am experiencing anxiety, that is all I am doing. I am not present in my personal life, not productive at work, not safe in my body. It is the overriding external factor. Sometimes, however, I am able to find another stimulus salient enough to capture my attention. As I become engrossed with whatever this is, I have less to give my anxiety. Thus, I starve it. It becomes an impoverished version of its former self. Some things that have worked as stimuli:
~ research articles about new discoveries or findings
~ new songs by artists I love (played on repeat)
~ an extremely challenging workout
~ a hike in a new and gorgeous place
These work for me because they involve things I am already passionate about. They don't fix my problems, but rather calm me enough that I can begin to work through them.

Cognitive resources are finite and invaluable. Thus, it is hugely important to take 'em back from the devilish overriding external factors in our lives. We need them to process and to prosper, to expand and to enjoy. Let's utilize our higher- order frontal lobe executive functioning (damn, that was a mouthful) and delegate resources as WE see fit.

Sort:  

I appreciate the read! Best wishes to you.

Oh man that hike looks awesome! The sunset too!

Very well written, even if a mouthful at times!
~ @Timbo

Ah, thank you sir! I have been working to make my writing more concise, so I appreciate the feedback. I hope your move to CA has gone well for you thus far! Sending good thoughts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83