The Intersection

in #life8 years ago

Hey Steemers,

I want to share an analogy that came to me whilst sitting at an intersection the other day. I was passively idling when it hit me... this four- way stop sign was a metaphor for life. If this sounds more than slightly ridiculous, bare with me. I was (still am) laughing at myself as well.


Consider this. The intersection is a system governed by rules, comprised of explicit law and implicit understanding. These are designed to be universally beneficial, to increase our chances of safe and efficient travel. We feel slighted when anyone violates the contract.

This is true in life as well. There are written laws to follow and moral codes to live and decide by. While the latter differs between individuals, one truth always remains: treat others as you would like to be treated. If you don't want to get cut off in the intersection, wait for your turn. Hold up your end of the compassionate- human- decency bargain. It will inspire others to do the same.

There are many approaches to a four- way stop sign. Some people aggressively charge when they reach the starting line; others hesitate. I believe that the best approach lies somewhere in the middle. When your turn comes, recognize it and take it. There is no sense in feeling guilt in those moments, because you have waited and worked for them. To concede to others is to diminish your brilliant right to exist. However, the only way for all of us to experience this is to allow others to do so. Let's appreciate each others' moments! The world thrives and jives when we constantly celebrate each other, and ourselves.

Finding metaphors like this helps me to turn my sometimes- dizzying thoughts into concrete pictures. It allows me to mentally manipulate and draw parallels. I do this when I find myself getting bogged down, as it connects my individual situation to a broader perspective. So pull up to this intersection, and let's navigate the complexities together.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77