Self: Awareness and Love

in #life7 years ago

Hey Steemers,

I want to talk about self- awareness as it relates to self- love. I'll start with this: I am a huge proponent of unconditional self- love. It is imperative that we show ourselves compassion, all ways, always. I say this without exception, because there is none. When we have royally fucked up? Love. When we cannot figure out our next move in this crazy life? Love. In fact, we need more TLC when going through the tough things. Allow yourself this grace- you show it to the others in your life with abundance.


In order to fully love ourselves, however, we must know who it is we are loving. We must explore every crack and crevice. This relationship will require brutal honesty, as it is the basis for all other relationships we have. This is where self- awareness makes its beautiful appearance.

Self- love does not mean turning a blind eye to our raggedy edges. To do so is to shame ourselves further. Why feel guilt for suffering from the human condition? It is the most unavoidable truth of this existence. However! To be human is to have the glorious potential to grow. To change. To thrive our way into ever- more, high- vibrating lives. The first step: to identify which aspects of ourselves call for change. I'll be the first to admit how challenging this is. It can bring up our defenses and leave us exposed. The good news? Vulnerability is a catalyst for change. It is a fertilizer for exponential growth.

Some ridiculousness at Outside Lands

I'll share some of my shadowy corners. I am hopelessly impatient. I pull away from the people I love when I am in crisis. I can be really, truly stubborn. I tend to rush through tasks instead of striving for quality. I am a terrible communicator, and my relationships suffer for it.

That was hard to write, and each of these things was painful to come to terms with. However, they are less scary for having been spoken aloud. Everything is more daunting when contained in the darkest regions of our minds. Yes, I could stand to improve. But couldn't we all? Aren't we each walking on rocky trails towards the peaks of our own mountains? Call out your own imperfections. Get comfortable with the fact that you'll always have some. People will love you more for it.

Self- awareness: to see our own idiosyncrasies. Self- love: to see our idiosyncrasies and slather on compassion like cream cheese frosting.

Sort:  

Self love has always been an issue for me, and now I'm finally working on it. It's amazing how quickly things move forward in your life when you focus on self love. Wonderful post.

Ah, thank you!

I so agree with what you've said. It's amazing how much its affects radiate out to other parts of our lives.

beautiful and insightful and honest as always, danigirl! It can be liberating to see "vulnerability as a catalyst for change" rather than responding to it with the instinct to hide. Keep on truckin', danigirl, and I look forward to your next post and our next dinner together! xox

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62486.49
ETH 3015.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93