Sacred Space

in #life7 years ago

It is something awful to have your space invaded- be it physical, mental, or of the heart. You have a right to these places. To inhabit them expansively. To guard the door or open the floodgates. To share them with precisely whom you choose.


Your body, mind, heart, and soul are YOUR domain, to protect or share as you see fit. To enter another's without permission is to violate sacred space. To experience it is a 10 on the Richter Scale- shaky and likely to involve aftershocks. There are many scenarios that walk a fine line with this.
When he stands far too close as his eyes scan your body? He can fuck off.
When they ask you to compromise your beliefs to make a profit? They can shove it.
When a trusted friend reveals private matters of your heart? They had no right to that information in the first place.

I believe in mindfulness and trying new things and trekking through the farthest reaches of our potential. In doing so, I've learned about myself. I've discovered that I love the smell of campfires; that I need to recharge in solitude; that I can take on a hell of a lot. I have begun to craft my edges, all the places where my being comes into contact with the world. I am able to critically consider each point of contact, and decide to engage or move away.

I am learning to define and defend my sacred space. I cultivate resilience as a result.

Sort:  
I believe in mindfulness and trying new things and trekking through the farthest reaches of our potential.
I agree with this, but it is really hard to maintain our mindfulness. :)

TRUE! It is such a humbling process.

Nice and good story about humanity feeling ! :)

I appreciate the read!


Hi @danigirl, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Wow, I am honored! Thank you so much. Very humbled to be included!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49