You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Kaleidoscopes, Games, Sensationalism and the Age of Violence

in #life7 years ago

I think that the saturation of our media world with violent imagery is a result of the increasing violence in the world. I have been unable to conclude whether I believe that violent imagery/media stimulates people towards violence. I have heard eloquent and convincing arguments on both sides (yours included). I do think that there is a profound desensitization that occurs, as frequent exposure --> the assumption that these things are commonplace --> less inflammatory reactions. Thank you for your exploration of this topic.

Sort:  

@danigirl, thanks for sharing your thoughts... I feel it's an important debate/discussion. And I'm interested in rooting out the underlying reasons we feel a "violent response" is OK, as opposed to unacceptable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59529.60
ETH 2657.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41