How to comfort during times of disaster

in #life7 years ago

As we hear the terrible news of Hurricane Harvey, our hearts go to the people affected. May they continue to find peace, strength and comfort through the difficult times, whether be it the loss of a loved one or possession...

May they learn to find the courage to move on and rebuild what was taken from them.

Here are Aurora's suggestions for some good things to say.

Do say:

  • You're not alone - I'm here.
  • I'm grateful that you are alive.
  • It's understandable that you're upset. That's a normal and natural reaction to this situation.
  • I don't know what to say.
  • I know things look bleak right now, but things are going to get better. This too shall pass.
  • I can't imagine what you're going through.
  • My heart goes out to you.
  • You're capable and competent. I know you can handle this challenge. I've seen you overcome other challenges. I am here for you.
  • I appreciate our friendship and I'm glad that you are sharing with me. You can call me anytime.
  • Would you be willing to consider that something good may be unfolding here, in spite of appearances? What could that possibly be?
  • Imagine things go perfectly from now on. What would be an ideal outcome one year from now? What could you be enthusiastic about?
  • What specifically can I do to support you?

Don't say:

  • Don't feel bad.
  • It must have been God's will.
  • It's your fault. You should have...
  • I know how you feel.
  • It just takes time.

"Time alone does not heal. The right actions heal. Be proactive," says Aurora, who hosts events to help people recover from loss and become happy again.

Attending the right event can be a fast way to reclaim peace of mind and happiness. "Amazing, incredible, indescribable! I have joy in my heart that I have not had for 4 1/2 years!" said Miki Knowles, after attending a grief coach training event.

"Healing is a process, and there is a light at the end of the tunnel," says Aurora. "If I can go from heartbreak to happiness, you can, too."

Do check out her website http://www.AuroraWinter.com as i find these pointers really useful.

Reach out and make a difference in someone's life right now.

Take care..

Sort:  

Congratulations @daniel.tan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61275.32
ETH 2983.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76