Would you turn down a potential partner because they don't make enough money?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

How important is money when deciding whether or not a person is suitable for dating?

Marriage markets are very complicated. People can marry (and divorce) anyone they want whenever they want (subject to legal restrictions), or not. People can move to marry, or marry and then move. They can marry up, down, sideways, or internationally. After divorce, they can repeat the process, with variation.

  • Many people will say money doesn't matter when love is involved but the statistics say otherwise.
  • Statistics point toward people marrying people of a similar education level as themselves.
  • While people don't necessarily directly ask "how much money do you make?", many do ask "what do you do for a living?" which is a slick way of asking how much money you make without directly asking.

So the question is, how important is income status in dating? Is it ethical to date down?

What exactly is dating down? Dating down is dating a person of a lower socio-economic status than yourself. It is also known that people who do date down have challenging relationship dynamics which can lead to one side concluding that they do all the work, or deserve better.

  • Should people restrict their dating options to include only people of equivalent net worth to themselves?
  • Should people simply decide on what their preferences are and date according to their preferences (whether it's dating high income, low income, physically pretty, intelligent, etc)?

Since there are no right or wrong answers but ethics do play a role in mate selection, the question is which answers is considered by community consensus to be perceived as ethical?

References


Becker, G. S. (1973). A theory of marriage: Part I. Journal of Political economy, 81(4), 813-846.

Web:

  1. https://www.theatlantic.com/sexes/archive/2013/04/college-graduates-marry-other-college-graduates-most-of-the-time/274654/
  2. https://www.quora.com/Is-it-wrong-to-turn-down-a-guy-for-not-making-a-lot-of-money
  3. http://www.newsweek.com/sex-race-education-and-marriage-gap-322591
  4. http://nypost.com/2016/06/01/the-solution-to-nycs-man-drought-date-down/
  5. https://www.quora.com/Do-men-prefer-to-date-down-and-do-women-prefer-to-date-up
  6. https://www.quora.com/Social-and-Behavioral-Norms-Why-is-it-considered-extremely-rude-to-inquire-about-other-peoples-salaries-income-in-the-US
  7. http://www.slate.com/articles/business/the_bills/2016/02/ask_the_bills_when_should_couples_reveal_their_salaries_to_each_other.html
Sort:  

When it comes to finding a partner and money, I find that it's not as much about how much they are currently making as it is how much they desire to make. In my eyes, I want to see that there is an abundance mindset. Does she believe that she deserves great things in life? Does she desire an above average life? If my wife only wanted mediocrity and average, then I can tell you that I wouldn't be with her. I've got HUGE goals and dreams that I fully plan to accomplish and she has to be onboard with that or else she would sabotage us as a couple to not achieve those.

For me , I do not care if my lady is rich because am doing great..I care only of her character, intelligence and of course beautiful plus healthy looks . Her money does not count for me , however if she has money plus all the qualities I outlined here, hmmmmm I will not say no.

same page here charles1 words right outta my mouth :)

life isimportant than money

I'm more concerned with their financial decisions than their annual income, personally. Someone can have a good income and make terrible financial decisions. I've made good financial decisions for the most part. My student loans are the only debt I have. Why would I voluntarily tie myself to someone who has made poor financial decisions and has destroyed their credit? My credit would be on the line for all major purchases. Heck if we were to get married, my credit ranking would actually drop. I don't want to be paying for someone else's dumb decisions, nor do I want my credit destroyed b/c everything would have to be in my name, on my credit, and the person has already proven they don't care about their own credit, like they're really going to care about mine more than they did their own? You can be poor and financially stable (which is me), and you can make over $100k per year and be up to your eyeballs in debt from bad decisions. I'm more worried about financial stability and making smart financial decisions than I am someone's overall income. Just my two cents.

absolutely love that statement! yeah financial decisions over income everytime. personally, when it comes to falling for some one, i don't really think about the money side, just work out the kinks and work with what you have, i have to admit i'm a bit romantic in the hope that things will just turn out of on the money side but that's because of years of living on little rather than gorging on it!

I'm probably far too logical for my own good sometimes. I'm one of those who believes that we completely control who fall in love with. We choose who we allow ourselves to get close to and attached to. I want to know these kinds of things before I choose whether to allow myself to get attached to someone or not. If you know certain things are going to be deal breakers for you, or are going to actually be a big problem in the future, why wouldn't you just avoid bringing that drama and heart ache on yourself and focus on finding someone you're more compatible with?

if that works for you, all power to you. i found that whenever i had drama in my life i eventually grew from it myself, i've found that people change, circumstances change, people grow apart, what if that person has money and then gradually don't, are you telling me you trade them in for another financial suitable partner as and when? - you can't always have all the data -- but then, what do i know. i'm just happy to be here on planet earth today with breakfast burritos and coffee! - i wish you the best in achieving relationship zen!

I can only speak for myself when I say that I prioritize my preferences. For example, I value loyalty and faithfulness more than money, and if someone makes a lot of money but lacks faithfulness or loyalty then I won't accept that. Because I know from experience that money's power and usefulness fades away when betrayed.

Money has its importance in maintaining a way of life but a happy way of life is supported by the intangible wealth we possess, like a faithful and honest and loyal partner. A caring partner who has empathy for me and makes efforts to make me love myself and my life in the same way I make similar efforts for them too. At the end of the day, it's about being happy, the both of you, and helping each other live and love life.

I am fully agree with you! This is also what I choose in life and I enjoy it. :)

I can see a day when marriage is no longer done. and ethereum contracts take over

In my scenario would I leave my partner if she didn't make enough money? This is hard to define what enough is. Right now we're fine and she lost her job I wouldn't leave her. However if she started behaving badly and did not care about going to work, it's a different thing. Love is an act not just a feeling, if my partner truly loved me she would care enough not to burden me so much that I have to work tirelessly to pay all of the bills instead of helping. So, to answer your question. I don't care if she is rich, but she cannot be a lazy bum and not contribute.

meep

Thank you @ionlysaymeep - why, I totally agree - Steem on!

meep

I rather find someone that loves me, cares and sees the world trough my eyes regardless of the status or the money she/he makes. Real love overcomes the sour taste of not making enough money. The simpler things in life, that don’t cost any money, sometimes are the ones that are more memorable.

I think if money or status makes a difference, love is not real and trying to make it work is not worth it.

Now to answer the question, none of the two provided options feel right to me. One should acquire the ability of seeing through the outer appearance and circumstances and really genuinely get to know someone.

What is "real" and what is "worth it"?

If money or status makes a difference, love/bond is not real and trying hard to have a fulfilling relationship is not worth it... just my personal opinion.

Oh and thank you... tried to make more clear in the first comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02