You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is "Don't be Evil" enough or should we strive to be wise and good?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

We do need more decentralization but in my opinion we need to do it in a smart way. It's not a good idea to create a democracy run on ignorance and disinformation. This in my opinion could end up producing results worse than just leaving the experts in charge. In essence we have to scale the decision making capability of any member we empower.

So what I'm saying is, do not empower me to be responsible to make decisions for a million people without giving me access to the means to acquire wisdom from which to make heavier decisions. I don't want my decisions to have a lot of weight if I cannot even know how my decisions may impact myself, the people around me, or the millions of people I know little to nothing about.

Yet that is what we see with DPOS, with Democracy in general. In DPOS this isn't a big problem yet because it's mostly the same kind of people and not even a million users. This becomes a big problem when we have 10 million+ users of all different cultures and world views. When it gets to 100 million people then you cannot have Ned making a decision by himself which can impact 100 million people unless Ned has the same sort of advisers a President of a country has.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63