27 year old dies tragically from cancer, then her family discovers message on Facebook from 24 hours earlier

in #life6 years ago

So I came across this video on Facebook yesterday when a friend shared it. I don't usually like looking at things like this but this time curiosity got the better of me.

All I can say is the letter that this girl (Holly Butcher) wrote before her death while battling one of the cruelest and unrelentless illnesses in this world is one of the most eye opening things I have ever read in my life. Her words are true and will hit home with 99% of people who read it. The further through reading the letter the more I understood the meaning behind it but at the same time the more guilty I felt.

I always hear the words "you take things for granted" but the way in which Holly wrote this letter filled me with guilt. Each day I wake up and I will moan about something that has gone wrong at work or I will moan because my partner has spent more money on my card. I find myself moaning that the kids haven't tidied up after themselves when raiding the kitchen cupboards or that I have a sore thoat. But as Holly points out in her letter, I am lucky to have the chance to moan about being alive to experience my family (the good and bad), my sore throat isn't life threatening.

I'm not saying that life is easy, it really isn't and the little things in life will always rub you the wrong way at times - it's only natural. Being bogged down with problems is part of living and learning but I will defiantly try and remember the advice given in this letter and try to implement it in to my life. If anything it can only have a positive affect.

I urge anyone to watch the video and take the 10 minutes out of the day to take in Holly's words as I think at the very least if it doesn't touch you in some way then it shows respect to a woman who is no longer here and in her final years truely grasped the true concept of life.

I would like to reiterate, this is not my letter and the video is shared from an online site.

Sort:  

Put the phone down and give and give is the message I got from this. I don't personally have a phone problem but I see it everywhere. Giving is what I most need to work on. Thanks for finding this, Dan.

Thanks for taking the time to read/watch it. When I saw it I found so many parts of it true, espescially living in a house with 3 girls adicted to their phones/tablets.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50