The truth about 'being yourself'

in #life6 years ago

How many times have you heard:
"Just be yourself."

This sentence always confused me because no matter what people may think, we're never really ourselves.

We play roles during the day and at different stages of our lives.

Then it suddenly hit me.

Being yourself just means...
Be spontaneous.

Don't censor yourself because you're afraid of being judged or rejected.

Hold on to your initial impulse and do or say what you intended.

For example, I'm writing based on my impulse and inspiration at the moment. I may be wrong or not, but it's irrelevant because "I'm being myself" by expressing what I feel to be true now.

When you're in a relationship, your significant other can sense if your words match how you're really feeling inside. If they feel a disconnect, then you appear as fake.FB_IMG_15264850073164145.jpg

Sort:  

True talk brother. You dey flex sha. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63423.51
ETH 3252.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91