Share your thoughts! Life experiment legacy

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hellos steemians,

Thank you for all your great comments, i am glad to be part of the adventure.

C.JPG

Thank you artwatch , you are not alone, for years now i have this idea to find a way to give us the possibility to share our life story, experiment, knowledge as legacy if we desire to.

Initially i was thinking about creating a website when anybody could write up what we desire to transmit to futur generation as legacy then came the question of immutability.

How to be sure the data will be never lost? I am sure they is some expensive solution with multiple data storage online and offline.
Before i knew blockchain technology, i imagined a website where we could filter our navigation by theme / date / countries...

http://worldbirthsanddeaths.com/

Each days approximately 160 000 persons die , 2 dead per second, each individual had a singular experience of life, unique set up of knowledge, living from other era.

It is a complete waste of knowledge not finding a way to store and learn from the past to give us the chance to not constantly repeat the same mistakes.

The amount of know how lost forever is absurd.

We love to study history whereas we don't bother to store today's experiences for future generation.
I would love to be able to navigate from life story to legacy experiment, advices, food receipes, all kind of ancient artistic or home made know how...

I sure your childhood memory is already very different from what new born child will ever experiment.

From each death we lost a part of our civilization with the risk to loose our culture, identity and roots forever.
I am not aware of such website if you do please post a link.

From my immutable communication post we know steemit give us the opportunity to communicate to futur generation:

https://steemit.com/community/@damarth/share-your-thoughts-immutable-communication#@artwatch/re-damarth-share-your-thoughts-immutable-communication-20180105t020305370z

Post your Life experience legacy simply by commenting this post.

Write whatever you want, whenever you want to transmit your legacy, send your bottle in the sea!

Sort:  

My mom used to tell me there was a time when I was little I ate expired drugs and then I slept and slept and slept. They (my parents) were scared to the core. They had to rush me down to tge hospital to flush out the drugs from my system but in the end I came out fine. I still wish they had mobile phones to take pictures of me then and also pictures of them selves being happy because I was their only child then and I can only imagine the joy on their faces when I recovered.
I also wish there were pictures of me, my siblings and my friends when we were all growing up. Now all i have of those memories are flashbacks anytime i see little children play around.

Your mom must loved you so much. Memories are such thing that I'm willing to spend my money to get it back. Haha it's complicated for me.

In eastern Nigeria, the custom was that when you lose a parent, you will be forced to go to the mortuary to retrieve their corpse alone by yourself no matter how old you are, if you are a first son

I was only 17 when I lost my father, and despite the fact that he had brothers I was forced take his body to the morgue alone, and to retrieve his body during burial, imagine the trauma for a seventeen year old, I was really demoralized and nearly lost my mind, they said it was culture, but believe me, till today that experience still haunts me

Growing up in a middle class home in Denmark with a good income, I've never known poverty or lack of material goods in any ways and can't really claim to have lived a tough life in such ways. My world shattered though when my parents went their separate ways when I was 5 because my mother had found us a new stepdad, and here almost 30 years after I'm still picking up pieces.
My stepdad was a narcissist with many psychopathic tendencies and through a combination of mental and physical fear he ruled our little family. In many years I had a hard time communicating with anyone without it being horribly awkward until I started playing World of Warcraft in 2010. The sensation of having a friendly online platform, in the shape of my guild, where I could communicate indirect with people, getting my point across without stumbling halfway through and actually feel relevant, was amazing.
I'm now a relatively normal functioning socially human being (though I'll never learn to small talk) but still very much appreciate platforms like steemit. The way steemit and similar platforms allow us to communicate freely, no matter who we are, how anonymous we'd like to be and what we have to offer is, at worst, still awesome and at the best a possible lifeline for individuals like past me.

The prospect of being able to safely store all these testimonies, legacies, stories and thoughts uttered each day here I hope will be of great value to the coming generations, both so they can learn more about us but also so they can learn from us.

My mother died after she gave birth. I don’t even know what she looks like anymore. I wish this kind of platform existed before 😂 I lost the last pics of her they gave me when I was still in elementary ☹️

This might the first generation of comments to do this so heres my take:

To you wholl read this in the future let it be known im so happy i found steemit, learned crypto and other cool tech advancement but the best part is always the people in it. Dont forget to connect to another person cos this is the age of no boundaries! ☺

A year ago, I've found a website where you can send a future letter to yourself. And that I did! It was so awesome, because I completely forgot about it and when I received it 6 months later, I felt like reading someone's else letter. So many memories came back to me when I was reading the letter.
The point is, it feels so great to read everyone's life experiences, even if it's your own experience that you have forgotten about.
It makes me wonder, how would future generations react to all the past life experiences people saved on the blockchain? Would they like us? Would they hate us? I guess there's no way to find out...

our life is like a bank account: we don’t want to spend everything but we don’t want to be a miser and save every penny. we’re only young once, but, with any luck, we’ll also be old at some point. Plan on a career, but don’t let it overcome the rest of your life. Take care of yourself, but don’t make it an obsession. Save enough money so that we have enough for the future and for emergencies, but spend enough now to avoid looking back with regret.

@damarth, In this part of the world where i come from (Nigeria), every parents thinks what ever they say are always right and should be obey by their kids, not bad but i really don't think its meant to be so because everyone has his/her right to make decisions and should be ready for the end point.

The reason why my parents still thinks that what ever they say for me, i should obey no matter what. It was a cool evening when my dad called me that i should follow him to one of his buildings to see how far the bricklayers have gone, although i had the plan to go and see a friend that evening so i told my dad that i can't, so my dad left angrily and that moment i felt i had the right to make decisions myself. I went ahead to see the friend but when i got there, i was told he when to the junction to buy something. So i decided to go and meet him there since i could locate the place, so i went to meet him there but getting there, they where two of them( I mean my friend and my friend's friend), after getting the stuff they came to buy,we all decided to go back to my friend's house and less i forget my friend had a motorcycle which they took to the junction, i was told to sit at the middle with the other guy behind me.
Having a sweet ride home but when we got to a point on a hill road, we add an accident and because i was at the middle, i couldn't jump off the motorcycle and that's how i broke my right leg. when my dad came back from the site that same day,meeting me at that condition trust me he was seriously mad at me and since then what so ever he tells me to do or says, he always want me to do it not minding my own decision and this is really not right for me. Despite the previous incident, that doesn't mean when ever i choose not to follow his own decision something bad will happen and that's the point i have been trying to make my dad see.

When everyone else would give up on me
Mama would sit by my side and sing
Telling the world how I'm wonderful and sweet
Mama who made me
Who's the bane of my dreams
Mama who'd sit by me when I was sick
I'm growing up, so I'll show my love
Give you everything you gave me and more.
Thank you for your prayers, your love and your songs.

I have been so downcast by life experience, that I got to the point I thought life had nothing else to offer, until I came across steemit which changed my life for ever..... I am really grateful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20