365 Days That Count - Day 72 - When all signs point to GO FOR IT & things seem meant to be.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

A few weeks ago my dad found a little house for sale in Wynberg. We'd only been looking for a few days and it was the first house we had been sent and then the first house we went to go and see so I was hesitant to like it for fear of just being overly excited and keen to get going with this project.

My parents came with me to view it, the original section of the house was built in 1934 and many of the features still remain. With big sash windows and wooden floors throughout it is charming and warm, the original stain glass doors add colour and light to the living space and the building structure is solid.

It also has a very good feel. We liked it immediately.

The family who are selling it have lived there for 12 years and raised both their daughters in the house which they have obviously loved and looked after, it makes a big difference when you know a house has been cared for.

But as I said, I was weary to let myself get too excited so I sent my business partner the video for her opinion and carried on viewing properties. She called pretty much immediately to say she was booking a flight to Cape Town to see it.

I took her there yesterday and she had the same reaction as we did, the place ticks all of our boxes. The proximity to my house for project management purposes, the location, the access to schools, hospitals, shops and highways and most importantly the potential to add a lot of value.

It's currently a 2 bedroom with 1 off street parking and we could relatively easily turn it into a 4 bedroom with 2 off street parkings - that's rare! And to top it all off it has a decent sized garden with some beautiful, big and established trees - something you don't often find in a small town house in the city.

I arranged other viewings for us so we could compare and see what else was available in the area but having seen them we agreed to go back to the first one.

We called our builder and set up a meeting for this evening to go through the scope of works and get an estimate. The financial viability of the project all comes down to the cost of renovation so I was praying it would be doable and he came in at nearly half of what I was hoping for!!

I am a deeply spiritual person and I can't help but feel this is strangely meant to be. I'm not going to get ahead of myself though, we're waiting for the builder to confirm his price and we'll take it from there.

For now, I'm just going to trust that it will all work out like it should. Here's hoping!

Love,

Daisy xx

( @daisyd )

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.45 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 16 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Why is your dad so happy in his new home? (a positive AFFORMATION released into the quantum universe for him!) Upvoted and RS :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56766.86
ETH 2492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36