365 Days That Count - Day 255 - Ready, steady...PACK! Last minute madness before London with my mama! ♥︎

in #life7 years ago

As I explained yesterday, Monday was a total write off so I had to squeeze 2 days of admin into 1, pack and sort out my animals before leaving for the airport at 5pm. Oh yes, and go for laser and have my hair done!

I got up early, thanking the universe for relieving me of a hangover I had honestly been scared would last a week, pulled all my clothes onto the bed before running around the house collecting all my gadgets and their chargers. I managed to get everything I needed out of their hiding places and into plain sight before rushing to my laser appointment which finished just in time for my hair appointment, the girls among you will understand the importance of good hair and smooth legs before going on holiday! My hairdresser kicked me out in record time and I met Em at home to help me pack. She ended up making lunch and calming down mum who was also in a flat panic while I rolled my stuff and squeezed it into my suitcase. I had a meeting with my builder at 3pm and was surprisingly organised by the time I had to go. When I got home I put the last few bits and pieces into my bag before shutting it and pouring a G&T while mum finished the last of her packing and Em and I chatted about the animals - she's their godmother and always moves in when I go away so she needed to be caught up on Khaya's muti!

For the first time, pretty much ever, we got to the airport early and had time to sit down and enjoy a salad and a glass of wine before boarding!


mum and i on the plane selfie.JPG


We flew with British Airways as we get air miles, although every time I fly with them I am reminded of just how useless they are and how we'd probably be better off starting over with Emirates which is, in my opinion, the best airline.

Flying economy has become a horrible experience that costs you a small fortune. Gone are the days where flying felt like a luxury now you can literally feel all the overheads that have been cut instead. You don't even get a toothbrush and the food is positively revolting. The small silver lining is that the booze is still free and you can self medicate till your intense discomfort becomes slightly more tolerable.

As soon as I could I got together my mandatory plane essentials; a strong Bloody Mary and a rehydrate!!


plane essentials.JPG


Despite the discomfort we still managed to laugh a lot! Mostly at each other as we doubled up our alcoholic sleeping remedies!

It worked for a bit, when the lights were turned off we were both tired enough to fall asleep but sadly it only lasted for an hour or so before we were intermittently woken up by pins and needles, cramping legs and stiff necks for the rest of the night. The plane was so old the tv's were minuscule and the colour was distorted so you couldn't even watch a movie to put you back to sleep. It was a really horrible journey but this time it was about the destination. 11 and a half hours later we arrived in our other home. Although I've now lived in South Africa longer than I lived in London, I was born there and spent the first 13 years of my life growing up as a Londoner and mum has still lived there longer than she's lived anywhere else.

Tired or not we were excited for our little holiday, just the two of us for 10 whole days, playing in one of the most beautiful cities in the world! 🙌

Wishing you all the happiest of days! <3


Love,

Daisy xx


🌸 If you enjoyed this post please vote, comment & resteem - it is much appreciated, as always. For more, follow me @daisyd 🌸

Sort:  

Nice post @daisyd

Thank you so much for reading @dodybireuen - have a happy day ✨

I always enjoy reading this kind of texts. It inspires me for a deep wish of writing about my own life, but I never considered it to be interesting enough to lay it on the sheet. Thank you for sharing @daisyd I will resteem and follow!

Thank you so much @pricadrian98 - I decided to do this blog for myself and to share my little stories in the hope that some of them may inspire others to do the same so I really hope you do. <3

Where there is love there is life.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Very true @wise-old-man thanks for reading :)

@daisyd Thanks for sharing. Love it. Followed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58576.55
ETH 2982.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71