365 Days That Count - Day 246 - #SundayFunday was NOT ruined by my house getting broken into, again! A magical day in the beautiful #CapeTown countryside! 🌈

in #life7 years ago

Mum planned a lovely outing to Avontuur Wine Estate yesterday. She was determined to put a smile on my dial and it worked! Em came over, we put on our glad rags and headed out to Somerset West.

It was another perfect day and we set off early so we could do the wine tasting before lunch. Em and I decided to go in my car so we could make the hour long drive a bit of a road trip and play the music too loud with all the windows open making far more noise than dad would enjoy being a part of. We went in convoy and for about 10 minutes our little road trip dream came to life until my neighbour called to say my house had been broken into - AGAIN! I think it must be the same guys, they know the house is unoccupied and the builders aren't there on the weekends so they must've come back for what they didn't manage to get away with last time.

Anyway, within a few minutes I had done everything I was able to. The police had been there and the builder was on his way to re secure the premises so I decided I wasn't going to let it ruin my day.


em and i in the car.JPG


We pumped "That's Life" by Frank Sinatra and laughed at how life seems to constantly test me. A few minutes later we arrived at the beautiful Avontuur estate.

Acting as both a wine and stud farm the driveway is lined with white fences and big green paddocks filled with gleaming horses leading up to a beautiful old Cape Dutch building set against the magnificent mountains. We wasted no time getting to the wine tasting centre and picking which ones we wanted to taste.

I decided on the 2015 Sauvignon Blanc, a Bordeaux blend, a Pinotage, the 2013 MMC and brandy because, why not?!


avontuur estate.JPG


Sitting under the trees surrounded by my 3 favourite people on earth I felt blessed despite all the bad that has happened in the last week, if I can feel so much love in my darkest moments I know I will always survive them.

It couldn't really have been more picturesque, sipping delicious wines in the shade on a beautiful summers day, surrounded by family, watching the mares and foals graze nearby with the endless mountains creating a perfect backdrop where ever you looked.


mum and em avontuur.JPG


On about the third wine our hunger won the battle and we moved over to the restaurant to order while finishing the tasting.

We sat under the cover of grape vines, surrounded by sunshine and greenery all feeling more than a little content. The food was delicious, Em and I had a butternut, leak and spinach roulade which was incredible but the real show stoppers were the deserts.

First though; brandy!!!


brandy tasting.JPG


By this stage I for one was feeling warm and fuzzy in every way. And that was before pudding!

Although I hadn't planned on desert when the menu arrived and every single one jumped off the page and demanded I order it, I caved! Mum and dad shared the cheese board and Em and I ordered the fried ice cream with butterscotch sauce and the brandy basket with vanilla ice cream and white chocolate fudge sauce.

I mean HOW were we meant to say no to that kind of deliciousness????


brandy basket.JPG


cheese plate.JPG


fried ice cream.JPG


Oh my holy greatness it was delicious, but as I'd been full before hand and then having practically licked the plate I was too full to do anything, including drive!

We left mum and dad at the table and went for a walk to try and speed up the digestive process and take in a little more of the magnificence around us before heading back to the city!


em strutting avontuur.JPG


We made our way home slowly finally getting the road trip experience we'd planned for, by the time we got back my throat was sore from singing!

A few games of Spite & Malice later with our bellies still full and our hearts still happy our eyes could no longer keep up. I thanked my wonderful friend for being so wonderful and hugged her hard before she left and I climbed into bed. It was a really shit week, a really shit week but somehow, despite everything, I came out the other side of it grateful and happy and for that I'm proud of myself and indebted to the incredible people around me!

I hope you had love filled, restful weekends and Monday has been kind to you all so far!


Love,

Daisy xx


🌸 If you enjoyed this post please vote, comment & resteem - it is much appreciated, as always. For more, follow me @daisyd 🌸

Sort:  

The bad makes us appreciate the good more, otherwise we would have a boring life. Thanks for your interesting life.....

Interesting post @daisyd

Where there is love there is life.

- Mahatma Gandhi

good this post

very nice nice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63062.73
ETH 2687.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54