365 Days That Count - Day 236 - Sweating wine, food tasting, visiting Jackie & negotiating fish prices at the Yacht Club. 🐟⛵️

in #life7 years ago

My exercise regime seems to have been reduced to bicep curls as I lift my wine glass to my mouth... it's been fun but I'm not feeling healthy or balanced!

Thursday mornings are the one consistent thanks to killer Kerri, my mum's trainer who comes to the house on Tuesday mornings and then we go to her class at the gym on Thursdays. It's always packed, the music pumps and she works us hard! This time was no different, by the end of the class lying on my back doing sit ups I was literally steaming not to mention dripping with sweat. The endorphins from a good work out are second to none and I felt better than I had in days by the time we left 2 coffees and some gossip later, we've made a little gym gang and after class coffees are sometimes the only reason we get to class at all!


killer kerri.JPG


After checking on the house and chatting to my builder I went to meet Michael for a food tasting at Tiger's Milk.

I must - and did - admit that the vegetarian options are limited but what they did have was delicious! There were cheesy nachos with guacamole and a delicious white sauce with fresh Jalapeño chilis, a veggie burger and tacos with re fried beans, avocado and coriander. By the time we'd finished I was full to bursting! I haven't been to visit Jackie in far too long so I left them to pop in for a few glasses of vino with her. She's amazingly brave, it's only been about 2 months - if that - since Tom died and she's somehow managed to find her feet already. After 40 years with the same man and to have him taken from her so suddenly and tragically, she is an example of the power of positivity. I'm sure she has her moments but for the most part she's chipper and busy and open and happy. We've always got on incredibly well and she repeated a compliment she's given me before which has to be the best one I've ever received, she says when she thinks of me she thinks of light and laughter. I really don't think there's a nicer thing you could say about someone and I was touched and humbled to hear it again. We do always laugh which is why I know it's important that I visit her regularly, we all know how good laughter is for the soul. I filled her in on the changed in my life since I saw her last and she was surprisingly incredibly supportive! I never know how people are going to react but for the most part the ones that matter have been nothing but happy for me which really does make the whole thing so much easier to wrap my head around!


yacht club.JPG


I hopped in an Uber and went to meet Michael and Stuart at La Parada on Bree before going to the Cape Town Yacht Club to meet a fisherman who wanted to sell them his catch.

I've never been to the yacht club before and although the inside was crusty to say the least the view of the harbour was breath taking! The fish price negotiations got a little heated before everyone decided to leave it for the night, have a drink and double check their figures in the morning. We ended up back at La Parada for a night cap before heading home to get an early night and test out my ear plugs. They helped but surviving the snoring is still very much a work in progress... 🙈

Any suggestions on snoring survival would be much appreciated!!!


Love,

Daisy xx


🌸 If you enjoyed this post please vote, comment & resteem - it is much appreciated, as always. For more, follow me @daisyd 🌸

Sort:  

upvoted and followed you if you like foodrecipies please follow me

Thank you very much @foodrecipies - followed you back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68220.71
ETH 3321.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74