365 Days That Count - Day 106 - The healing power of horses.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Having felt rather lonely for most of this weekend I chose to spend Easter Sunday with my horse, who is really a unicorn in disguise.

I've had sky since he was 3 years old and we have an incredible bond. He's more like a puppy than a massive ex race horse. He whinnies and nickers whenever he sees me and loves to cuddle and play and follow me around.

But he's not always the most cooperative with a camera....

I've long since been accustomed to the healing powers of horses, I've been lucky enough to be surrounded by them my entire life.

I can't tell you how many times I used to find myself in Sky's stable after work just chilling with him and soaking up his peaceful and strong energy.

Animals speak energy, that's the incredible thing about them. They don't care what you look like, what you sound like, they care how you feel.

If you want to know more about a person just watch how a dog reacts around them. In many ways children are the same, before we complicate their lives with words and perceptions of how people and life should be.

But there's something special about horses. I think it's how much stronger their energy is than ours.

If I'm anxious around my dogs, they pick up on my anxiety, but if I'm anxious around my horse within minutes of being in his space my anxiety has dissipated and I find myself in whatever mood he is. As Sky is a happy goofball 99.9% of the time it's always an enjoyable place to be.

I've been a bit lonely this weekend and I knew being around him would cheer me up, as I got to his paddock and watched him trotting up to greet me I couldn't stop myself smiling.

I faffed over him for a while, cuddling and whispering my thoughts into his neck and then we went for a gentle outride, both of us listening to the birds and taking in the views as we went.

I took him to graze in the long grass afterwards and marvelled at the strength and beauty of my gentle giant. Finally I took him back to his paddock with a big slice of lucerne and watched him munch greedily for a while before leaving.

He is my medicine, my therapy, my peace. He is my healing.

I am so grateful the universe aligned for us to be together.

Thank you my boy, for your love and your light. <3

Love,

Daisy xx

( @daisyd )

Sort:  

The telepathic power of horses is really amazing! You described it in such beautiful words, thanks!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.35 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28