365 Days That Count - Day 105 - Feeling a bit like Bridget Jones over Easter.

in #life7 years ago

Loneliness is often heightened over the holidays. These are the times we are meant to be together with our loved ones, so it can be difficult when you're not.

I'm an only child and although I'm very, very close to my parents it does mean that these occasions can be a little quiet so usually we have a big celebration at home and invite lots of friends. This time however they were out the whole weekend and I chose not to go as I have a lot of admin to do before the new week and my friend arrives from the U.K.

So it was my own fault I found myself alone over Easter but that didn't take away from the loneliness I felt.

I've been single for the longest I ever have been and to be honest I'm over it. I've got to an age where the holidays are not just about the family you grew up with, it's about the family you've made.

Seeing pictures of friends with their partners and children hits a nerve even when I'm not sitting by myself with an Easter egg.

I know there's no rush. I've been through a lot and have made huge changes in my life over the last few years, in fact I know that it's a blessing I've been alone in some senses as it's allowed me to really come to terms with the person I am and what truly matters to me.

But now that I have, I'm ready for someone to share my life with. I can only hope that the stars will align and I'll find my person.

Until then I'm lucky enough to have amazing friends and family and of course my animals with whom I'm never really lonely.

As I found myself pouting about being alone, I looked to my right and there was my little Kip just bursting with love and kisses.

Sometimes it takes feeling lonely to realise you're not.

Love,

Daisy xx

( @daisyd )

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.65 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 17 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Happy Easter. Hope you found some Chocolate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56516.28
ETH 2315.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34