Trying not to disappoint on Mother's Day was a stressful time

in #life7 years ago

My mum was complaining about never having any effort put in for Mother's Day, so I got a bit stressed this morning as I forgot to get a card and forgot to wrap her present up. As my sister isn't down either, it was a lot of pressure to make the day good for her.

I wrapped her gift while she was having a shower and made her a ginger shot, like she did for my birthday, and a lemon tea. She was telling me all about the benefits of cold showers and how now she can tolerate it for a significant amount of time. Honestly despite the many benefits, I don't think I'll be giving up my warm shower any time soon.

I asked what she wanted to do and she suggested going to a garden centre and then later decided not to because it would be too full of mothers. Honestly... one day she wants a traditional Mother's Day and the next she wants to avoid it. We decided to go for a walk instead and ran into our hairdresser. It was a lovely sunny afternoon and it was a very pleasant walk.

I got back and my friend suggested we go for another walk with two of our other friends, so she picked me up an hour later and we took her dog for a walk on the hills. The two guys we went with kept winding me up about politics and they thought shooting ducks and hearing their necks crack on the ground was funny. Got to say I don't share their sense of humour on that one.

On the way back though, we had some good laughs and conversations and it ended the day well. I returned home and ate dinner with my mum and she said she enjoyed the day. So all in all it was a success, thank goodness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51