The importance of gratitude for making you feel happier

in #life7 years ago

I started off the day with a fruit smoothie and messaged my friend who is currently interrailing. I'm also watching Riverdale at the moment, which I put off for a long time despite lots of people telling me to watch it because I thought it was going to be cringey and just another typical teenage drama. I've got to say I'm really enjoying it and just embracing the cringe.

I went down to the local organic shop to get some things for lunch and saw my friend who works there. My other friend messaged me she was at the gym and so I quickly got ready and went down to meet her. A guy who I speak to sometimes was there, which was awkward as we all just pretended we hadn't seen each other because I wouldn't really say we were close even though he came round to my house a few months ago.

I came back home feeling really great and happy and I think that's partly because I've just been counting my blessings recently and appreciating the things I normally take for granted. I made tea for my family, which sadly didn't really turn out the way I wanted as I'm a bit shit in the kitchen, but my parents ate it anyway! But yes I've been thinking about all the great things life has to offer, even the smaller things that just make everything have a bit more meaning like music, good food (maybe not tonight's dinner) and animals because they just do a lot of funny shit.