Happy Birthday to Me

in #life7 years ago

Yesterday was my birthday and I was dreading it. Fortunately though I did have a good birthday except for a few minor things which brought me down at the end of the day. One of my closest friends who is constantly online didn't say anything to me. We had an argument few weeks ago which we did resolve, but she hasn't said much to me since and we haven't seen each other as we've been doing different things. But I didn't even get a message from her. I thought that was a bit petty and it really got to me.

On the brighter side anyway I woke up to lots of birthday messages from my friends and my mum made me a "birthday juice". Some people get cake for their birthday, I get a ginger shot. I had a shower and opened some presents. The rest of my family couldn't be there sadly, but some of my friends were back from uni at least. Bit of a weird note - when getting ready I put on the rest of the film I was watching last night called How To Be Single, and the first thing that was said was "Happy birthday, Alice!". It was as if Rebel Wilson was directly talking to me.

One of my friends made me a cake and another who said she couldn't come because of work surprised me right before we left the house because there was a change around last minute. We went out for lunch and because it was cold the guys went back to get us all hoodies and jackets. Afterwards we sat in the sun had cake and they sang happy birthday to me awkwardly. The friend who surprised me then had to go to work then, but it was nice seeing her.

After that we drove to go for a walk. We had to get petrol first and my friend was unable to line up with the pump so kept trying to angle her car properly for about 2 minutes. We brought my friend's dog along and I ran up the hill. It was very windy and we rang up another friend who couldn't be there unfortunately. I had a really nice time and after we came back singing Disney songs in the car and watched 28 days later together and then Ex On The Beach where we just laughed at everyone.

As we hadn't eaten, my mum kept trying to feed everyone despite them saying multiple times they were alright, but it showed she cared at least. A Spanish guy kept messaging me who I met 2 years ago and kept asking when I was going to meet him. It got a bit annoying after a while. They left and I sat and spoke to my mum as I had the birthday blues. My sister was also having a difficult time because of boy troubles and was contacting me still at 2am, so it wasn't an early night. Overall it was a good day, but there's too many expectations on your birthday, which I think brought me down in the end. It's a lot better when you just act like it's a normal day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51