You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How trading changed my life (A story)(featuring @rules169 as author)

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Haha, thanks! I didn't say that I didn't succeed. I turned $100 into $5000 just learning the ropes. I think anyone who is sharp will be luckier than most, but me just saying that will probably cause another 50 people to each lose $100 to one other person who may make the same, so I'm not proud of it, and I know it was just luck.

I would probably do okay doing the same with $10k. But would I make it up to $500k? Would it work the same if I started with $100k? Is it the same amount of effort turning $100k into $5m?

I doubt it, because now you're a lucrative target for those who know even more than you do. I've heard of too many people who lost $10k+.

The problem is, that the more you have, the easier it is to risk even more getting debt and leverage and it's tempting.

What if the broker borks your stop loss? Do you have the means to get it out of him? Probably not, and he knows it.

Business is cut-throat and you only realize this once your very life has been threatened by business rivals.

I just sold a share in one of my companies for $100k. I'm not trading Forex with it, or putting it in these insanely overvalued markets - I've put half of it in property and I'm setting up businesses and buying and selling goods and services that people need with the rest, it's not easy money but it's honest business and if hyperinflation or some other crisis hits, I'll be able to add value. Rather than investing, I go to local startup-events and hackathons to see what people are working on and to see if I can team up and help.

And with the $5k I made in forex?! That's my upcoming holiday! Quit while you're ahead!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55