Oh I Do Like To Be Beside The Seaside

in #life6 years ago (edited)

OMG... Such a great night in Hastings.

If you live anywhere near travelling distance, do Do DO visit Hastings and it's Pier.
The reconstruction of the Pier was community led and just wow! The community have nailed it!

The Pier only re-opened this year and the architects won a RIBA Award for their work. It is amazing.
https://www.architecture.com/knowledge-and-resources/knowledge-landing-page/winner-of-the-2017-riba-stirling-prize

Here's some pics I took from the Pier. It's free to access and the best experience I have had this year so far.

Enjoy,
I luv u,
d3p0

Hello Pier.JPG

Pier side 2.JPG

pier side 3.JPG

Pier1 .JPG

IMG_9321.JPG

Screen Shot 2018-05-28 at 04.19.22.png

Goggles.JPG

Long Pier .JPG

Pier side moon.JPG

Shadows - Hastings.JPG

Sort:  

That's a great effort by the community. I remember the fire. Before that I had a friend who worked at the council and held the keys for the pier, he was always running down there for viewings. Lovely photographs.

Hiya :) If you can get down there again, you will L.O.V.E it. Is your friend still down there? Happy. Monday :)

I'm sure! He's a film producer now and still in Hastings.

I haven't been to the new pier yet @d3p0 but I'm not too far away, along the coast in Hove.

Are you local or just visiting?😊

Hiya! I live in south London, but had family down in Rye and Winchelsea so was down there a lot aged 12-17. Hove is lovely. You must try and get there. If you're happy to do a d3p0 Meets... (see my blog) maybe we can go together. Hove is only an hour in the car for me.

I'm actually planning a summer meet-up in Brighton/Hove with some people from London. We've been talking about it for months and are looking at sometime in July now.

I've been to a few in London which have been fun. 😁

Rye is on my list of places to make an effort to go to and visit as I think it would be good for photographs.

I'd be happy to do a d3p0 Meets in Hove. (I don't have a car). Are you around during the day?

Hey :) Sorry for the tardy reply, I've only just seen your reply. Yes I have a car and Hove is an easy trip and I am around day times with some planning :)
How is the end of next week looking? You'll be the first Steemonian that I meet, apart from @lloyddavis who got me onto the platform and has been a friend for a decade or so now. Happy Friday!

Hi @d3p0. I didn't know you were a friend of @lloyddavis. Maybe we should get him down for the day too. 😁

I'm not around at the end of next week as I'm going to a retreat in Devon on Thursday.

I could do the 18th, 21st or 22nd. Any of those any good? 😊

OK - I'll connect with @lloyddavis we can come down in the car.

Nice to see it back up and built! Just shows what community can do 💯🐒

Indeed that's what hit me most, how the community shaped this experience, versus a commercial for profit operator. It actually warms my heart and inspires me.

We need to see more of this it's a true example of what community is capable off 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64686.77
ETH 3158.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57