Quitting Smoking - Day 5 - Judged and Willpower Limits Tested Via Court Appearance

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I am on the 5th day of the tobacco quitting struggle, and circumstances forced me to stretch my willpower to the limit. I had to leave the house for 24 hours to attend court in another town. This would mean I would be around smokers, lots of smokers. 

I arranged to stay with a friend weeks ago, this friend had quit smoking two years ago and vaped instead. Or so I thought... I was quite proud to tell my friend I had quit, when he hangs his head in shame and says he started smoking again 2 days ago... 2 years of having given them up just gone. I was so disappointed in my friend, but I understood.

I had to spend the night in there because of court, I can't have a warrant issued for my arrest over smokes. I couldn't sleep the entire night with two packs of smokes sitting open and a pouch of tobacco on the counter. I tossed and turned half the night, decided I had to go for a long walk and vape.

Court was set for early AM so I walked all the way into town (7 KM) and wandered around the courthouse for a few hours until it was my turn to appear. Every time I got close to a door or window I could smell burning tobacco. A lot of smokers were waiting for court. This was a second major test of willpower, people who knew me and were also waiting offered a smoke like a good friend, thinking I was vaping because I was out of smokes. It's so difficult to say no, I even said yes once but changed my mind by the time we got outside. Played it off like I had meant vape the whole time. 

The ole Judge was a little sour with me today, I still don't have legal representation. I get another week to find that. Lots of warnings about seriousness of the situation and need to get things together. I would rather have more time with me doing it and less time with the guy I can't afford doing it. It was just a little plant product, the way he's talking I had real drugs or something. Him being all sour made me nervous after I left, and of course made me want a smoke. Pretty sure I chewed the inside of my cheek raw.


I'm back home now, in my comfort zone. I made it, I almost failed a few times but I managed not to smoke any tobacco. I'm sucking hard on this vape though, it would be so easy to go buy a pack of smokes right now and just forget about the stress.

(Sources 1, 2)

Sort:  

It's a task to stop smoking, I did it about a year and half ago and I still get the urge every now and again. Good luck and well done for getting through a really tough day without smoking.

Tonight was another tough one with the ufc fights on, had some people over and they smoked... I was surprised how easily I got through it at first... then it got worse until everyone left

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60578.94
ETH 2625.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54