My Biggest Regret In Life / Learn From My Mistakes / Be The Light In The Darkness - D00k13 Digest #112

in #life6 years ago


What up my Steemians, welcome to the @D00k13 Digest, yesterday my buddy and coworker had a family emergency but still came to work and it has reminded me of my biggest regret to date. When he arrived at work he was obviously distraught, quickly he told me his grandfather was in the hospital and it didn't look good. Taylor my buddy is a lot like me where he does not want to let anyone down ultimately punishing himself in the process thus he came to work anyways. I had encouraged him to leave work and go be with his family but it wasn't until I started talking about regret and what is the larger regret did he finally decide to leave work. I had to explain to him my biggest regret in life was not being there for my mother when she needed me the most and that it is something that haunts me still many years later.

So I am on my way to go touch base with him before I start work, see how he is doing on a personal level. He messaged me this morning but didn't mention any details so I invited myself over as I figured it would be appreciated. Taylor was there for me when Tristan passed away, he is a good man and I owe him at least a visit during his time of sorrow.

When people are on their deathbed often times they do not want to think of the situation they are faced with but would rather a distraction. We have the opportunity to ease their burdens by allowing them to be proud of the legacy they are leaving behind. We can be the light in the darkness for them, distract them from the pains they endure by sharing everything good within our lives that they can be proud of. My buddy is getting married in a few weeks and I suggested to go and talk with his grandfather about how he has turned his life around and now has a fabulous wife. Discuss the details, share the good stories, just be there for him without focusing on the fact it may be the last time you speak.

Taylor did leave work but only after much insistence by myself, spoke with his grandfather a little before he became unconscious. The next morning just after leaving Taylor's house he messaged me saying his grandfather passed that morning and he thanked me for pushing him out the door at work. I can be very determined when I want to be and I just knew that if he didn't go at that very moment it may have been too late to say goodbye. Sometimes I hate it when I am right, but the lessons I have learned through my own mistakes are able to help others when they choose to listen.

If you wish to know more about my biggest regret and how it applies to this situation either watch the video or check my blog post https://steemit.com/steemit/@d00k13/word-of-the-day-regret--dont-leave-yourself-the-opportunity4ifth0tl as I do not feel like rehashing those emotions to write about it all over again.... sometimes we need to know when to move on, life doesn't stop so neither can I.

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!?!?

Thats it @d00k13 OUT

Follow @d00k13 if you wish to join my journey!

  • If you wish to help, Sponsor Me! Contact Me On Discord @ d00k13#5396 .... or

Join us on #OneLoveDtube Discord Server

Wallet of a Minnow, Heart of a Whale

Join The #OneLoveDTube Curation Trail, Earn Rewards!

Check Out Partiko Discord Server


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Some ppl need to lear the lesson the hard way, and some folks just don't understand what kind of pain the might be atracting themselves by choosing something over other things.
Sad to hear that about your mom, at least you got there.

Thanks dude, yea I am glad I seen her before she passed but I had so many things change in my life I still fear she passed without being proud of me... I am part of her legacy and for that I feel I let her down but I life on... look at all the good I am now doing... if she is up there watching over me I know she would be proud of me now!

Posted using Partiko iOS

You let me thinking... is it better for a mom to be proud of their son, or to know that teir son feels proud of who he is/has become?

No "it's better for her" but like "is a better feeling in her mind"

Yea that’s kinda how I feel aswell, I can be proud of myself all I want but whether or not she is proud is what matters. Proud of your legacy type idea

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60826.76
ETH 2393.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62