Prompt of the day “Debt” - The Worst Mistake Of My Life Yet I Can See A Positive Future!

in #life6 years ago

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/d00k13-prompt-of-the-day-debt--the-worst-mistake-of-my-life-yet-i-can-see-a-positive-future-hqlyg4hn-1542298400393.png

When turning 19 I was working earning a fair amount of income and because of that job I received many, many, “you have been approved” letters for credit. No one ever really talked with me about the complications of putting yourself in debt so obviously I ended up getting a fairly large credit card and maxing it out.

That was by far one of the worst mistakes of my life, very shortly after taking the credit card I lost my job and it has been a series of struggles ever since including being in trouble with the law. I ended up having to put myself in consolidation which luckily is one step before bankruptcy and actually helps to rebuild your credit rating. I knuckled down for nearly 5 years before finally digging myself out of that initial debt but did I learn? No!

Most recently my fiancé and I ended up in debt over my desire to drive a Pontiac Fiero. Man did I love that car, still one of my favourites that I have ever owned but it came with a cost. It would break down constantly even the same parts over and over needing to be replaced. That combined with a few unavoidable life situations put both of us back in debt.

Since the beginning of this year I made it my mission, working a second job to help pay off our debts all over again. My fiancé has successfully paid off all of her debt as of last month and myself I have mostly paid off my car loan and currently I only have one line of credit which should be paid off by the end of next year. It will be the first time since I was 19, I am now 32, that I will have no debt above my head. From there we intend to save, my fiancé has already started, hopefully moving forward to buy a house which is something I had not thought seriously we could ever achieve.

We are hard-working folk but I arrived a little bit late to the understanding of financial freedom and I see crypto currency as a means to ensuring our futures.

I hope one day that all my blogging & vlogging will be able to pay just for a vacation to celebrate our financial freedom. Possibly meeting some of you guys while I’m on my adventure doing what I love, my new found passion of travel vlogging! Had I not fallen into debt I may never have been lead to crypto & Steemit alike thus I see the value of such a difficult journey to finally be able to breathe freely again.

This #FreeWrite Prompt of the day “Debt” by @MarianneWest

If you struggle like I from time to time always searching for a topic to write about I highly suggest you check out the community @FreeWriteHouse and her daily prompts. I am certain you will be met with a warm welcoming inspiring you, as it did for me, to continue forward on your own creative journey.

This month they are each putting together a novel in one month, your rocking it #NaNoWriMo warriors.

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!!!

Thats it @d00k13 OUT

Join Us #OneLoveDtube Discord Server

Join The #OneLoveDTube Curation Trail, Earn Rewards!

Check Out Partiko Discord Server

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

First, hi!!!! It's been forever. And second, thanks for sharing your story. It's not always easy to admit the things that we wish had happened differently, but in your case, you flipped your script and did all that you could to change your situation. It's admirable and inspiring. :)

Omg long time no see. It’s really good to hear from you, totally has been forever!

It’s definitely not easy to admit that I am the cause of our debt problem but I am proud that I didn’t require filing bankruptcy so as you said maybe my story can inspire someone to save themselves from their own terrible situation of overwhelming debt. The one thing that has made it all possible is my loving and supportive fiancé as without her I would have had no reason to better myself, it’s our future on the line.

It’s really is good to see your active again, I always found your creations touching, like me you seem to speak deeply from the heart!

How’s everything on your end? Last we spoke you mentioned it was a challenge, I imagine you were able to figure things out for the better?

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don't like credit cards too. Let the debts be gone and welcome financial freedom.

Hereby, I am delivering the next prompt to you, here it is, check it out! It is 'Be Gone.'

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63788.71
ETH 3393.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62