How a 4-Year Old Made My Day

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Today, the 4th  day of October 2016,  I woke up on the lazy side of my bed with thoughts of going through the daily 8-5 hassle. In my head, I wish yesterday was a Friday so I can accelerate further while hugging my bed. Having realised how hectic the traffic is for the day, I had to firm up the courage to hit the road. 

For those familiar with Lagos (Nigeria) daily hassle, you know its no joke when you get stranded while waiting at the bus stop. Finally,  I got a car to take me to the office, while in the car, I said to myself, TGIF,  I can wait to cool off. 


I work as a Business Development Officer in an HR firm. I love my job, however not when companies are not ready to spend during the ongoing recession in the country. Fast forward to me listening to the car stereo (Nigeria Info), the OAP narrated the story of a 4-year old girl who changed the life of an 82-year-old man.

I listened with rapt attention because I love to be inspired so I wanna share this with you just so it might inspire you as well.


Details of the amazing story can be found here: http://www.littlethings.com/tara-wood-mr-dan/


My lessons:


1.I found this image extremely lovable and inspiring 


How on earth can  a four-year-old be so passionate about loving a stranger whose age-grade is often  abandoned by many? Does it mean she's more intelligent than some of us? 

What struck my attention most was how caring the young lady was to loving old people. I can only imagine what was going through her mind. Sometimes you wish you can visibly see the love in someone's heart.


2.  When Norah made this statement “Hi old person! It’s my birthday today!”, what came to mind was what the old man would think when someone calls out to him in that crude manner on a neutral ground. His reaction, however, was greeted with tenderness and love for the 4-year old Norah. I discovered one thing, two wrongs doesn't make a right. You cannot right a wrong statement, action, behaviour with yet another one. The best to do is to reciprocate with a good action/behaviour capable of making the other party mend their ways.


3. Never let someone's opinion of you become your own reality: Mr Dan for weeks has been living a lonely and unhappy life until Norah came around and his life was changed overnight. Someone somewhere loves and appreciate you for who you are and what you stand for. 


4.Take a leap: Often times we are scared of talking to strangers because we all gotta mind our business right?

Sometimes, you might just be the key to someone's happiness. Everyone you see everyday around you is dealing with something you know nothing about. Just because it is nothing is written on our forehead doesn't mean we are not facing problems in our life. A little hi might just help someone. Be like Norah.


5. Be Hopeful: In life, when you face any problem, stare at it in the face and say to it " I am bigger than you". Even though Mr Dan had faced sleepless night due to the death of his wife, life has a way to reward us I guess. 


6. Show some love: show to love towards everyone no matter what. Love has to colour, age, gender or culture.

One Love.

Sort:  

This is such a sweet story!
When my daughter was 3 years old, we moved to a new state. One day shortly after we moved she was playing outside when she saw the neighbor across the fence.
She asked the lady "How old are you?" The lady said "93"
My daughter said "You're old!! You're going to die pretty soon.' The lady laughed and laughed. And thats how they became best friends.
The lady's name was Emma & she was mostly blind, but found her way around in familiar places like her home or yard.
There's more to this story and it is very touching. I will have to write about it for one of my steem it posts. Haven't posted yet.
I had to join steem it today to give you an upvote.
Thank you for sharing this. The pictures and story are absolutely beautiful.

Thanks @mindofmyown. Sometimes i wish i could read the minds of a 3/4 year old. how amazing would it be if we all can share any mind blowing moment you've had with a kid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44