Blog Post - 5/18/18

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hi, I wanna blog about my night and what I'm doing. I'm pumped full of caffeine and I'm not going to sleep any time soon. Also, some updates:

Crypto Currency

I started managing a crypto fund for someone, a very wealthy and epic someone, and I have a lot of liquid capital to work with compared to before. It's fun, and trading with thousands instead of hundreds is really cool. I can now realistically track five or so of my favorite coins with a four-digit sum of money and day trade on multiple charts at once. I thought this would be a difficult endeavor before I really thought about it much, but so far it's been pretty stellar. Luckily for me, we had a massive dip when I got the funds, and we've had a great recovery so far.

I'm a very aggressive trader. I'm taking this opportunity to see just how aggressive I can be without getting burned. I've been day-trading almost daily since January and I've gained a lot of experience when it comes to tracking charts and how to place orders. It's not the easiest to articulate, and a lot of Technical Analysis posts and videos are cringe-worthy garbage. Either way, I'm fairly confident and I've had nothing but good results 'til now.

As I've written about before, I love love love low cap coins. I don't really deal with anything above $100M when it comes to day trading because then charts are a lot more difficult to track and stay ahead of unless you have hundreds of thousands or millions of dollars of capital to work with, which I don't (yet hehe). The playing field in smaller markets is much more manageable and you can keep up with the flow way easier. Not to mention gains are usually a minimum of 2%, and with some of the cryptos I track I get upwards of 15% swings for my trades. Shit adds up over time, but one problem is volume. When dealing with a lot of money, these trades aren't like 2% of $5000, instead it's like 2% of a bunch of different chunks of $100, $300, $700, etc over and over and it gets real difficult to track sometimes. I'm rambling now, but I'm having fun!!!

Gonna spend the rest of the night tracking and trading, and hopefully I can make the most of this good-ass opportunity!

Doom

I've been also spending my evening doing some Doom stuff. I've already re-done MAP01-MAP03 for Flashback to Hell UV Max ILs, so that's cool. I'm having a lot of fun doing these offline demo sessions like I used to do all the time back in the day. It's very relaxing and cathartic, and I don't get frustrated ever because I don't feel embarrassed when I get owned like I do live on stream, hehe.

I've finished No Rest for the Living UV Max, but I'll probably scoop up some more IL records, and will be uploading every demo I do to DLive and YouTube as I progress, so if you don't like demo files, I hope you enjoy the videos!

Also, I don't know if I'll do much more, but I started another map and it's been slow and I have to relearn a few things, but we'll see how that goes.

Streaming

I don't know when I'll be back streaming regularly, still lots of stuff I need to do during the days and I don't want to schedule myself to anything, and I've also just been enjoying the time off. Streaming every day for dozens of hours for months straight without any real vacation time builds up a lot of stress, so when I come back I'll probably be a lot more chill as a result. Expect changes to stuff, but nothing major.

Politics

I love arguing about politics. Now more than ever. I'm working on rethinking a lot of my political positions and doing a lot more research into individual topics. I won't stop talking about social and political issues, and if that upsets you, then you're just gonna have to deal with it or leave. :)

Ok, that's all I have to say for now. Please shower me with praise and validation so that I can upvote you.

Sort:  

Glad the trading is continuing to go well. Upping the difficulty level by increasing the amount being traded across a number of super shitcoins seems logical as long as you can keep on top of it. I guess the problem is that for some of them even a few hundred dollars is over 50% of the daily volume, so it's probably almost impossible to trade large amounts.

I still want to try it sometime but I keep finding myself psychologically attaching to my intended liquid funds and wanting to hold them instead. I find the idea of selling a crypto and then watching a moon mission blast off while I'm only half on board to be a terrifying thought. It's already happened to me a couple of times pre-2017 and it's a depressing experience.

Cycling $1500 out of a shitcoin with a daily volume of $100-$200 takes a while, but when the gains are about 25%, and you can control the entire flow, it's eases a lot of tension and anxiety with fast moving trades. I've traded XRP, LTC, ETH, and BTC on GDAX, Kraken, and Binance before and it's cool to see instant gains, but they're only like 0.25% per swing and the possibility of getting burned is usually much higher since a whale coming in and bumping the price by 0.5% is enough to fuck you over.

My recommendation is to just set aside a meme fund on a separate account or ledger entirely and track and trade coins you don't even really like just to divorce yourself entirely. Another good strategy here would be to, say, take $1000 for meme trades, then every time your value exceeds $1000, shave off the top and add it to ARK (STEEM) so it looks like you're growing your fun holds and not really scared to lose anything.

Can't say I have much of an opinion on the trading talk, besides being proud of the great job you're doing, so keep it up :D

Been absolutely loving the Doom ILing though, especially considering I've been doing some of my own, and realize quite how bloody hard this 'playing Doom fast' lark is. For selfish reasons I'd love to see you go for a full Hell's Memento 2 set, even though a few of those will be pretty damn tough.

Must say I'm also enjoying this extended non-streaming break, it's nice to actually be able to really spend time with you, for the first time since we hooked up... June could be pretty interesting anyways, if Britbong does bugger off. Although we both know Pigginatti isn't going to stop boosting himself, so perhaps #1 won't be as attainable as it previously was...

You do a lot of silly stuff but in the end you're a fucking genius. Which is also why you scare me...

Oof!

I'm working on rethinking a lot of my political positions

No SHIT. Will it stop people from posting the edgy cd531 imgur albumn to own you in a debate though? Clinging onto your identity means you keep all the baggles of your past. And no, changing your political onions does NOT change you as a person. (you have changed as a person though ;) )

Also, voting means you tacitly endorse genocide because all the current parties support genocide. (-:

I don't understand this comment.

Whoops! Didn't know there were a bunch of memers going around with the "you've changed" meme. I only mean you've changed in a positive way.

Also all change in politics is muh PR. Your views are for the most part consistent from the past but the thing that's changed is how you're trying to be perceived. You should be more extreme though, too much reason and logic, not enough emotion! :)

I'd agree with that, less memes and more actual subject matter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63177.41
ETH 2439.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58