My thought of being an educator for learning disabled children in Malaysia #1

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Types of LD students I've got so far :
  1. ADHD - energetic, cant concentrate that much
  2. Autism - like to repeat something, routine person , inside the box kind of person
  3. Down Syndrome - adorable and still ADORABLE
  4. Slow Learner - they are just slow, need to give specific and easier instruction
  5. Cerebral Palsy (CP) - they are not that bad, it just that their physical hm (the one cant straighten their legs, with wheelchair)


In Malaysia, special education divided into 3 types :

  • Visual impairment
  • Hearing impairment
  • Learning disabilities

I strongly believe being on the 3rd type gotta be the toughest compared to those 2. It is because when it comes to LD, they are even students with visual/hearing/physical problem which is a bit harder because I have to deal with something I don't know yet.


It is bittersweet kind of situation

Gotta love kind of responses you might get from them. They seem to be happy and energetic most of the time. They dont even know they are handicap at the first place. Of course they know duhh, it just the might have accepted it before we even realised it. I have this one moment, I made a huge mistake. I told my student to write something (she is so small and still looks normal duh , I should have realised smtg !)

Me : Cuba ikut cikgu pegang pensil ni dan terus tulis ( Just follow my hand/fingers movement )
Student : Ok cikgu ( still no changes with the writing )
Me : Kamu tengok tangan & jari cikgu elok-elok (Just look at my hand/fingers)
Student : Tapi jari saya tak cukup ( Not enough fingers, 2 and half fingers )

Alright, I felt so bad. I should have pay more attention with my their disabilities. But then the satisfaction when they managed of doing something is golden. I gotta, even if they managed some basic calculation with less 20 is satisfying enough for me.

Sometimes even if you got so mad at them, they might even forget it in less than 5 hours or a day... But then, patience is virtue :)

Supportive Parents

It would help teachers A LOT. I mean, I appreciate them so much if they just let us do our job ( We are trained for this ).
Some of the parents need to accept the fact their child is not normal like others. Dont expect much and start to accepting. Happiness can only exists in acceptance


If you have anything to share , I am open for anything

Upvote , resteem and follow for more :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @cupidofdarkness! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

wow I like it this post

My parents are educators, since young they hv been persuading my siblings and I to follow their footsteps, I never once thought of it... not because of interests, more like the responsibility is far more than I can give haha. Salute to all educators

I was forced by the government 😂 But then, it's not that bad. I was lost anyway back then. I guess being an educator is fun and interesting for me 😎
Yeah most parents are like that , because you work in gov sector and much stable.

Being an educator is not an easy task... Patience is really one of the most important elements and virtue needed... And passion for education and our younger generation is also important... The love to be with them sharing our knowledge and guiding them... One day a teacher, we are forever the teacher in our students heart... It's a profession unlike any others.... The sweet, sour, bitter, spiciness... Being able to see our students grow and be successful in whatever they do, there's no words to express the feelings...

Cant agree more, it's a profession unlike any others. We are going to meet our students for years and suddenly they just gone (grad) and then the new students and same thing repeated over and over again. I just want them to be happy in whatever thing they do.

I am not in teaching line anymore... Only teach my own girls now...
Some of my students (back when my practical time) are married and with baby(ies)... Time really flies...
Some pursuing their dreams in uni locally or overseas... And really blessed to be still able to keep in touch with some of them... Pretty cool

Not everyone can be a teacher, especially a teacher to special needs students. I believe it is more challenging and requires a lot more patience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01