Me, Myself & Motherhood

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Where should I start ? When people asked us to introduce ourselves, we would often reply 'There's nothing much about me. My name is XXX and I am XXX this year and I live in XXX. The end. Without a doubt, I was one of them. It is not going to be the same in this platform as I would love to open up upon myself.

Let us start with my name. Shall we ? My name is Mico and at a legal age of 21 (2016), I gave birth to my first child. Well, that escalated quickly ! I was a SAHM (stay at home mom) for 7 months and now I have move on to be a FTWM (full time working mom). It's funny how the 'Mothers Community' has their own official Acronyms.

Now that you know I am a 22 year old mother, there are probably plenty of thoughts running through your mind. Which is why I am here to share my experience with everyone, whether you are young or old, planning to conceive or just eager to know what does it feel like having a child of your own, you are definitely at the right place.

Will this be a consistent parenting platform ?

Of course no. Just because I have dedicated most of my time on my child, that does not mean I do not have my own 'Me-time'. Am I right ?

I shall begin my first post on how Motherhood had entirely change my life 14107795_1770363283245591_7600765264585471927_o.jpg

My little darling when he was only 2 weeks old. My, my... Time does fly. A blink of an eye and he is now 1 year and 2 months old.

1. The Throne

download.jpg
Image taken from Google images

Gone were the days where I could just sit, relax and do my thing. If you are the type of person who enjoys spending 30 minutes in the toilet reading the back of the shampoo bottle or playing games on your throne, here is the news for you. You will only have less than 3 minutes to get everything done.

If 3 minutes ain't that bad, here is another news ! You can hardly sit on your throne !

Back then when I was still pregnant, I had to tinkle every 20 minutes especially when I was about to deliver soon as there's alot of pressure going on at my bladder due to my baby's weight. Yes, this applied to other women as well.

How about after the delivery ?

I gave my throne a visit in the loo about twice a day. I raised my son all by myself and it can be very tiring especially for being a first time mother so I went to bed and ignore the fact that I have the urge to use the loo. I only have limited amount of time to sleep due to my baby's short sleep cycle, so I had to choose my bed over the throne.

Disclaimer: I am not a single mother. My husband (like most husband that I've heard from the mother's community group), chose to take the easy way out and let me handle everything. * evil glare *

Please, take my advise and use the loo right away when you have the urge to urine or past motion. I was diagnosed with a serious case of UTI and you definitely won't want that to happen to you.

2. Tick-Tock

Timing is everything when it comes to being a mother. I have to keep track on what time my boy drinks, sleeps and pass motion. That's it ? These are the only stuff I have to keep track on and I'm making such a big deal off ?

Obviously... No !

If I had to pack a baby essentials bag for an outing, I had to do it at least 3 hours in advance. The process involves:

-Make sure my baby naps. A whiny baby is never a good sign.
-Prepare extra clothes
-Fill the thermos flask with hot water
-Fill the portable milk container with formula milk
-Prepare meals (My baby is taking solids now and I refuse to freeze the food. I cooked it fresh every single day)
-Double check the bag making sure everything is in it, from diaper to bottles to pacifier
-Move the bag to the car with the pram

And of course... I have to prepare myself !

Thanks to all these, my time estimation skills is part of my specialty.

3. Momma Knows Best

nWRPKlF.jpg
Image taken from Google images

Before I get started, I gotta admit. I was one of those who always go against my mother until I became a mother myself. After raising up my own son, I just somehow knew what is best for him. I believe it's called the 'Mother's Instinct' and IT IS REAL !

People would often judge or comment on my child's well-being but deep down I know, I know my child best.

Here's a common example.

'You shouldn't feed your baby whenever he whines. You have to train your baby or else he'll get overweight. Your baby is not hungry, he's just whining to drink that's all.'

Well, I don't need to say much. This is basically child abuse.

4 Confession of a Mommy Shop-A-Holic

shopaholic.jpg
Image taken from Google images

I used to be one of those girls who will check on branded goods, the latest fashion trend and fashion blogs. I always wish to own a Chanel Boy or a Louis Vuitto Speedy Damier. Oh ! And a Diorama as well !

Christian-Dior-Diorama-Bag-13.jpg
Image taken from Google images

I present to you, the almighty Diorama from Christian Dior ! Isn't she a beauty ?

Just like luxury goods for adults, baby products have their very own luxury line as well.

Stokke Xplory 151216-018 Cobalt Blue_27527.jpg
Image taken from Google images

This is a Stokke Xplory Pram * laughs * You can buy 2 iPhone for the price of this.

Not only have Motherhood taught me that baby goods have their own Luxury brand but my shopping experience had changed tremendously. Gone were the days where I would head to Cotton On, Forever 21 or Topshop.

Where do I go ?

My trusty shop, Mothercare !

Mothercare has everything ! Believe me, when there's sales going on, I'll exit the shop with a few bags with me. Shopping for baby stuff and spending money on my boy makes me happy. It feels even happier than treating myself Nando's.

Why check out on prices of dresses and heels when you can check out if there's discount for formula milk and diaper ? Every cents I saved matters a lot as milk and diaper doesn't come cheap nowadays.

I'll have to stop here for now as Motherhood does not have an ending and trust me, there's still alot more to talk about being a mother.

A Mother's love can never be measured nor can it be repay by cash.

Love your Mother as much as she loved you for she had sacrificed so much where she would even give up her life for you. Which brings me to another topic that I shall continue next time.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit Mico! Your next post can talk about that free stay at 5-star avani hahaha

Oh ya !!! Our romantic dinner date by the beach !

Great job.thanks for share.

You're most welcome :D

Welcome to Steemit!!! Enjoy your journey here while u earn!

Thanks ! :D Best platform ever !

Welcome to Steemit Mico! Have fun here :)

Hello there and thanks :D I'm already enjoying the community here.

Welcome to Steemit @crystalmaiden !!!! and of course to the #teammalaysia community. Do hook up with us on FB = Steem Malaysia ... great to have more content creator onboard

Thank you so much for the warm welcome 😀

Welcome to Steemit @crystalmaiden!

By any chance, are you a fan of DOTA? Because your handle crystal maiden is the same as one of the characters from DOTA :D

Yes yes yes. I used to play dota and CM was my fav hero. I ran out of idea on what name I should put so here it is.. Rylai !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57346.65
ETH 3107.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40