👀 My First Two Bottle Gardens - Meet ‘Bitcoin’ & ‘Ethereum’ - Which One Will Survive The Longest?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Today I decided to do something I’ve never done before: create my first bottle garden (two actually). The idea popped into my head since last Saturday somebody I met at a birthday party told me about a bottle garden (‘flestuin’ in Dutch).

It basically is a terrarium inside a bottle. Once you close it you never have to open it anymore and it becomes an ecosystem on its own. No maintenance, nice!

I looked up a few examples online and it seemed easy to do. Yesterday I bought two nice bottles for my first bottle gardens and some decorative little stones. Today I went outside to look for stuff in from the local park (Westerpark in Amsterdam) to put inside the bottles.

When I came back I made some coffee and got started. I used tweezers, a funnel made of paper and a spoon to get everything in the right place. I ended up not using everything I got from the park though. Too much dirt and most plants were too big. Still, I am quite happy with the end result :-P

End result

20180109_160225.jpg

Process

20180109_151526.jpg

20180109_152530.jpg

20180109_152921.jpg

20180109_154436.jpg

20180109_160324.jpg

*The corks are there for the pictures, since you have to wait a few days before you actually close the garden. Also, the bottle gardens should not be in direct sunlight.

Of course, these bottle gardens should have a title/name. I bring you ‘Bitcoin’ and ‘Ethereum’. Nice to meet you!

Let’s see which survives the longest ;-)


Bitcoin

20180109_160123.jpg

Ethereum

20180109_160035.jpg

I am definitely not a pro at things with plants, so I probably made some newbie mistakes that will cause these two bottle gardens not to live eternally. For instance, I know that I should have added a bit or charcoal, but was too lazy to buy it. I will do that next time.

Cheers! Now I am going to read about bottle gardens a bit more to prepare for a bigger one ;-)

Sort:  

What an awesome idea! Thank you for sharing it. I'm not very good at looking after flowers, but I will surely try making something like this too.

Thanks! It is quite easy actually. I recommend to start with a relatively small bottle with a wide hole to not make it too difficult for yourself.

Wow! very cool!
Very nice, and what species of plants?
Up, and Follow :)


look my big terrarium:
https://steemit.com/animals/@kamilkowalski/rzekotka-australijska-litoria-caerulea-breeding

Wow! There are actually frogs in your terrarium? How cool is that!

Mine are very basic, I just wanted to try it out. I am planning to buy a big bottle and make a 'professional' bottle garden though. I guess I will also have to do some solid research into the plants when I do that :-)

Yes, I have frogs there :) :D
If you make a new one let me know :) and show photos :)


Photos from the terrarium construction:
http://www.spis-hodowcow.pl/kamil-katalog-187#galeria_hodowcy


this is my other terrarium, it has 80x80x80cm:


Whoa! That's actually super cool! I have my own mini indoor moestuintje, but nothing as tiny as that! Hope it survives.. ! If it doesn't it probably stops looking nice pretty quickly

Haha cool, a mini indoor moestuintje!

My goal is to have a flestuin in a nice big bottle before Bitcoin or Ethereum dies ;-)

Hi @cryptotem,

Your blog is really good!

Thanks :)

Thanks! Which one do you think will survive the longest?

You are so creative, it looks lovely! I hope they both survive :-)

Thanks @sunnydidi! I hope so too :-)

Your post resteemed and upvoted by @yusifm

Very nice. I will do something similar. Thank you.

That is a super idea! Clever names too lol

Ghgheghe thanks! Update: they are both still very much alive!

I like it! And do I need a certain kind of a cork to keep the ecosystem airtight?

Nope, just a normal cork should work. The challenge is to have the right humidity in there. I will give an update on these two next week or so.

Thank you, I am waiting for the following posts on this topic)

Sangat bagus.pohon apa itu

Thanks! I don't know which plant it is actually :-P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56430.09
ETH 2323.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35