My Passion #2

in #life7 years ago

Some time ago I said I was going to do a segment about the passions of my life, and that I would love to share with the steemit community. Now the last one I did was around 6 months ago, I know my steemit game has been weak sauce since summer, but I'm making a comeback baby. Check out my first passion if you haven't yet.
https://steemit.com/exercise/@cryptonewb/my-passion-1-2017611t18030400z

Another passion of mine that goes right up there with my first one is hunting, especially bow hunting. If you've never hunted, or understand people that do hunt; I'm sorry to inform you, but you're missing out on one of the most exhilarating/boring times of your life. Wait what?

Let me try and explain this one. I've had a very recent experience that sums up what bow hunting is all about, and why it can be the most exhilarating and boring times.

Let's start with a little back story. So I go to school in La Crosse, WI and my family has some land up by Eau Claire. So almost every weekend during the bow season I make the hike to our little cabin about 30 miles east of there . It's complete with a 7-acre food plot we keep for the deer, and about 200 acres of woods that we hunt.

So heres what all went down this past month.
Rewind 4 weekends ago, we've been getting good trail cam photos of some nice bucks that we have in our area. This makes me want to hunt night and day. So I do just that, and I don't see a DAMN thing. So I take the loss and wait for the next weekend. That rolls around, and still not a thing. The same thing happens the following weekend. At this point I'm figuring it's getting a little late in the season, deer aren't moving, feeling discouraged, I told myself one more weekend.
Fast forward to the next weekend, aka this weekend, and BOY am I glad I went out. The first night I went out there were deer EVERYWHERE, it was honestly ridiculous. The only reason I didn't shoot any bucks (I also already filled my doe tag in the early season) is because we have this one buck that is sticking around, and I want him baaaad!


This is the most recent one we have one him. We also have him on video, and boy let me tell you this picture doesn't do this behemoth any justice

So I go out to my favorite stand this afternoon, hopes filled to the brim, and guess what, I see him coming right at me no more than 10 minutes after I sat down in my tree stand. I see that rack clear as day thanks to the snow on the ground. 80 yards... 70 yards... 60 yards... 55 yards... "Come on you fcker, just a little closer and I'll make it a painless death" I thought to myself. As soon as I am about to draw my bow back and launch my death stick at his chest cavity, a doe comes FLYING out of no where and this buck just follows her.. At this point I'm like there's no way this is going to happen. So I whip out my grunt call to try and reel him back in. He stops as soon as I grunt, he's about 80-90 yards at this point. He gives me a grunt back, thinking there's competition for this doe he just found. Believe it or not, just like in hunting movies he starts walking back. His hair is fluffed up, he's licking his nose (helps with scent detection), and waiving his rack around like he means business. By George he's coming back! 80 yards.... 65 yards.... 55 yards... and just like that the same FCKING DOE comes running back to him as if to say "he's not worth it baby". I thought to myself this cannot be happening right now. And just like that they both walked in the opposite direction, never giving me a clean shot..

To say the least, I was disappointed. Then I thought to myself, this is what makes hunting so exhilarating. It's just you vs. a creature who has incredible sight, smell, and hearing. Odds aren't in your favor. When you're out there you have to think like a deer to get a deer. Hunting to me isn't all about big racks (even though I love big racks), it's also about being out in nature enjoying everything. BUT, at the same time not seeing any deer for 3 weeks was a real drag. The positives outweigh the negatives by far to me.

If you've never given hunting a chance, but have always wanted to, go for it. I guarantee you'll know by your first hunt if it's for you or not. I agree it's not for everyone, but you won't know until you try!

Feel free to comment a hunting story of your own, or shit even share a picture!

An upvote is always appreciative
And as always, stay classy steemians

Sort:  

I miss deer hunting :’(

Still a few weeks in bow season baby

Congratulations @cryptonewb! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50