Procrastination: An Evil Within You

in #life7 years ago

Source

 So first thing first, What is Procrastination? How does it affects us ? Most importantly why I said it an ‘Evil’?Simple meaning of Procrastination is, ‘delaying or postponing a task or set of tasks’. Now you can understand procrastination does a lot of help to held us backward from our desired destination. It is a habit, which I consider doesn’t leave soon. People have been procrastinating for centuries. The problem goes back to ancient Greek philosophers like Socrates and Aristotle, they even developed a word to describe this type of habit as ‘Akrasia’.

Now you know Why I said this habit an ‘evil’ which needs to be eliminated. Now come to the point, How does it affect us?

It does affect us in many ways . Some of them are:

  • Most negative impact it has on us is that ‘You will lose your precious  time’. That should be the most negative impact. Don’t you think? . Well it is for me. Time is money, if you lose your precious time then you are losing your potential money.
  • Second Impact would be ‘Career Related’. Well you can ruin your career if you just delay your decisions. Not able to decide what you want to do in your near future, would be a whole negative point for me.
  • You can ‘Damage Your Reputation’. Now most of people would agree with me. Won’t they? Anyways when you keep saying you will do something and you don’t, your reputation inevitably gets tarnished. Nobody wants empty promises.
  • You will lose a lot of opportunities coming right at you, If you are playing with procrastination. On a serious note opportunities doesn’t wait for anybody, so you will lose enough if you got yourself hold back by procrastination.

By taking into consideration, I have come to a conclusion that this habit must be eliminated as early as possible. Procrastination destroys your life silently if not violently. 

So, if I left anything please do tell me in comment section and Thanks for reading guys.

Sort:  

Good post! I deal with the procrastination of tasks by splitting them up into bite-sized chunks, it makes it easier to start. Making decisions however is a lot harder, but not making them is worse than making the wrong ones.

Well, that's a good strategy to divide your work into small chunks. I'll note it in my journal as well. And yeah, making decisions are a lot harder but you have to make those anyway.

Although, I am glad that you could relate with my thoughts. Thanks mate . @connyholm

Interesting topic I must say. Decision making is very easy when the results or consequences of the decision is clear beforehand, and we desire a well defined outcome. When the possible results are unclear even after analyzing facts deeper the agony begins. In such situations I can challenge myself to choose the option which could afterwards give the best anecdotes or learning experience. If we can't predict the outcome the choice does not matter.

Agreed mate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53