Big things are in the works

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Fears.jpg

I've been making excuses for myself

After reading @thatsweeneyguy's post on taking accountability for your actions (or in my case the lack of), and confronting your fears head on to take charge of your life to become the best you that you can be, I certainly had to reflect on my behavior lately.

It's so easy to get caught up in rush of it all

I have a lot on my plate, but everything on it, I have put there myself. That doesn't mean that I don't struggle to balance it all, though. I have skipped a few more classes than I should have at this point in the semester, as it is just now midterm. I have flaked on family functions because my anxiety was through the roof when it came time to leave for the event. I quit my management job after a short-staffed night left me slinging burgers while water dripped on me the whole time due to a roof leak and the monsoon happening outside. The store lost power and at that point I lost it, said "fuck it" and walked out. NOT my proudest moment as I almost immediately regretted my decision. Not because I was worried about money or providing for my family, but rather how I left my coworkers and employees high and dry because I had had a few too many manic days in a row. And I certainly haven't been as active on Steemit as I should have been. I feel like I am I didn't exit properly to become a full time Steemian. I took the short cut because I know of many people haven't made the leap yet.

Page divider.png

But now it is time for a change

Vin 8 months.jpg

Little eyes are always watching and even if they weren't I deserve more of myself than I have been giving. Everyone around me does. It isn't too late in the semester to turn it around. With this being the my graduating semester.... I really have to get my ass into gear. And I always do when it comes to school. It's like I always say... "C's get degrees". Haha. Since I am not working a traditional job now, I won't be stressed before family functions because I won't have to worry about being back in enough time to get steembaby down for a nap before I have to go close the store that night.

I am free to make my own hours....

...and write about anything that I want! That's the beauty of Steemit. I can make it work for my crazy ass schedule and life demands while connecting with members of the community who are not only interested in things that I am interested in, but also have a connection to people who are knowledgeable in areas and skills that I am not. What a fantastic ecosystem of knowledgeable networks we have right at our finger tips!!

Page divider.png

Things to keep an eye out for...

Saturday, March 11, Sweeney, Cryptobaby, and I will be hitting the road with our sights set on New Orleans, Louisiana. While we won't be making the full trip in one day (you try driving 12 hours straight through with an 8 month old. No thanks!), we have a halfway point hotel room in Cullman, Alabama. I'm sure we can find some trouble to get into while we are there. Look for the series to start tomorrow morning with me showing what all I have packed for a 4 possibly 5 day budget road trip.

I have also started another account to run my bullet journal maker series. Follow me @bujo (get it.. BUllet JOurnal) to be the first to see my post as soon as it up. The introduction post really goes into detail on explaining what a bujo is, how I plan to lay out post series, and how a bujo can greatly improve your life, but it still needs some fine tuning and now that I have a printer to scan in layouts (!!!!) I can really get this project rolling. This is not a project you are going to want to miss. This method of organization has the potential to impact your life as much as Steemit has.

Last, but certainly not least... we are just days away from signing a lease to have a location for The Steem House! Some of you have already heard about this AMAZING project that @thatsweeneyguy has been working so diligently on to ensure that everything goes perfectly. I have been planning and packing for our road trip so have unfortunatley haven't been the greatest help, but no longer. If you have been under a Steemit rock and haven't heard anything about this yet, then check out our progress in just under two weeks!

bujo.jpg

Sort:  

This is beautiful seriously! Gotta get your dreams!

Thank you! I'm still young and have a lot to learn, but I am finding the biggest obstacle I have is myself. A head full of fears has no room for dreams.

This. Exactly. Taking responsibility for your choices, and moving forward in the direction you see as best right now is a wise way to live. I'm right there with you. Doing my best. ;)

C's get degrees

Ha ha. hadn't heard that one before. In medical school, the saying was P=MD (pass = doctor). And here's a scary thought...what do they call the medical student who graduates last in his class? Doctor! (wasn't me, I assure you). Good luck with all your endeavors.

Hadn't really given that too much thought! Thankfully Cryptobaby is here safe already so I don't have to visit the doctor anytime soon in the foreseeable future.

Stay healthy and have a safe trip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74