You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TIL - That Despite You Best Efforts Your Passwords are Stored in Plaintext!

in #life7 years ago

Oh man, sounds like you managed to dodge a bullet here. I'm glad you got your passwords back, but this is also scary at the same time. Hard to ever be totally sure of what your computer is doing without you being aware. Sometimes I look at Task Manager and wonder just what all that crap is that I have running...

I have so many passwords / keys / important stuff these days that I'm getting rather paranoid about losing it all by accident someday. So I keep a triple backup of my most important stuff on a home NAS, USB drive, and 2nd USB drive stored in a locked drawer at my office.

Sort:  

Yeah I really did dodge a bullet there. Fortunately, I was able to recover and I'm taking active measures like yours now to make sure it never happens again. I was really lucky this was only personal stuff. Thankfully with business related stuff I'm a lot better about hygiene and use custom key stores, with a few different backup modes including a steganographic option.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60748.61
ETH 2912.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36