You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Are You Afraid Of?

in #life8 years ago

Looks to me like the old saying "what doesn't kill you makes you stronger" applies pretty well to your life. Cancer is indeed a scary thing, but I wouldn't worry about it too much as it's something we have no control over. It'll either happen or it won't. Best to cross that bridge when you come to it, and in the meantime worry about things you actually can control.

My greatest fear is failure. And I don't mean trivial failure like making a bad investment or something... I mean the kind of gut-wrenching, life changing, fundamental kinds of failure: being homeless, not making enough money to put a roof over my head or food on the table, not being able to hold my family together, losing the love of my wife / daughter, being labeled an unproductive / terrible employee, that kind of thing. It's this fear that serves as my primary motivator in life, driving me to work hard and put forth my best effort into whatever endeavors I get involved in. I always have the feeling that I'm just one step away from losing everything I've built, that the wolf is just outside the door, and that gives me a powerful drive to excel and make sure those fears can never become a reality.

Sort:  

I relate to much of that. I don't think our purpose is to be economically productive labor units though. When your product is expressions of human experience (like writing, photography, film, music, etc.) how economically effective you are will follow from how richly you live your life.

I am not afraid to be poor forever. That would be much better than dying atop a mountain of cash, having done cruel things to accumulate it.

I'm not afraid to be poor either, just of not being able to maintain a minimum quality of life to allow me to get by. The phrase "economically productive labor unit" makes me shudder. Sadly I'm a wage slave to a large corporation for the time being, but am actively working to weaken the bars on that particular prison cage, with an eye toward making an escape eventually.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58474.85
ETH 2500.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39