I've Missed You Steemit, Cryptofreedom Here Posting Live From Accra Ghana in West Africa!

in #life6 years ago

It's been a long time since my last post, but Steemit still holds a very special place for me.

Due to various life and external events that have happened over the last 6 months or so, I became much more busy and therefore was unable to donate the same amount of time to cryptocurrencies and Steemit than I have in the past. I have been active and up-to-date on many events within the cryptocurrency space, but nearly as active and involved as I used to be. While I haven't been as active on  Steemit over the past several months, I have still been promoting it to many individuals who are curious regarding getting started with and learning more about cryptocurrencies. I would love to use this post as a way of giving the Steemit community a bit of an update about my current living situation.

I made the decision to spend the next several months volunteering with a Non-profit organization a little bit outside of Accra ghana.

I arrived in Ghana on the 10th of January, and have had a great experience so far. The NGO that I am volunteering, named Mawulolo Youth Network, with is involved with providing additional education resources to the children of the local area, as well as helping with the costs of school supplies for many of the students. The organization currently sponsors the full cost of school fees for over 25 children in the village, and runs an after school program for the students 3 times a week. During this afterschool program the children are able to receive additional help with homework, and learn about subjects like math, science, English, and ICT much more in-depth than they do in school. This program also gives the children productive activities for the students after school, and leads to many of the students taking their education much more seriously. 


While I have only been apart of the network for 2 weeks as of today, I can already tell how big of an impact this organization has on the children of the local community. One of the biggest and most important things that Mawulolo Youth Network provides is paying select children's school fees, which enables the children to stay in school when they may not have had the same opportunity to do so if it wasn't for the network. The organization is run by very dedicated and passionate individuals, who see that investing and promoting education from an early age is one of the best ways to create opportunities for a better life for these children in the future. 

I have created a specific account for the organization to begin writing their own posts, but am currently awaiting the verification process.

It dawned on me that utilizing the decentralized community of Steemit could be one of the best resources for the organization, and I am very eager to see what the outcome of this could be. The wide and diverse Steemit community could also serve as a great way to spread the message and information about the organization to an audience that would have likely never heard of it otherwise. In addition to this, I still firmly believe that the Steemit platform is one of the best resources for those individuals who are new to and curious about cryptocurrencies to become more experienced and comfortable using them. It took me by great surprise that many people in the community actually have heard of and know what Bitcoin is, and through the utilization of the Steemit platform I believe that I may be able to educate and promote cryptocurrencies within the community in a more effective and productive way to begin to utilize the benefits that cryptocurrencies and blockchain technology offers. 

Ghana has the fastest and best internet infrastructure in all of Africa, so it would only seem logical that it may be one of the first countries to widely adopt and utilize blockchain technology as a solution to a wide range of different problems. Mobile payment systems are extremely common and widely used within Ghana, but these are systems of mobile money similar to M-Pesa in Kenya( the biggest mobile payment system used in Ghana is the MTN payment system). I am very eager to see if the Steemit community can be of value to an organization like Mawulolo Youth Network, and I expect that it will prove to be very mutually beneficial for both the platform and the organization. 

I intend to become more active within the Steemit community once again, and begin to make posts more regularly once again. I really have missed the community and the Steemit platform, but there is no reason to dwell on the past at this point. I will begin to post cryptocurrency related posts once again, as well as posts about my time and adventures while I am in Ghana. 

All liquid rewards from this post will be sent directly to the account for the Mawulolo Youth Network once the account is verified, or will go to funding an account creation on anon Steem should the account not be verified for any reason. This may not be the case for subsequent posts, but I will make that clear with each post. It feels great to be back, and I hope you all enjoyed this post. The pictures attached in this post have all been taken since my time volunteering with the Mawulolo Youth Network, and I realize they are the first pictures I have shared of myself on the Steemit network! Feel free to leave any comments, input, or questions in the comment section below and I will try to get back to you as soon as possible. Thanks for reading!

Please note: None of the opinions or posts made by my account in the past or future reflect the views or beliefs of the Mawulolo Youth Network, and should not be assumed to reflect those views unless explicitly stated. 

Sort:  

Volunteering with a non profit organizations is the best thing you can do . Keep it up and keep us updated with the vlogs.

Good blog..I appreciate your blog.travel is very beautiful ..Thanks for sharing this post ..
Carry on your life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05